IPL 2020, Match 22: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI Punjab - Toss Report

IPL 2020, Match 22: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI Punjab – Toss Report

SRH [Photo-Twitter]

Beleaguered Kings XI Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad will be looking to get back to winning ways when they lock horns in the 22nd game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020. Both the teams are taking on each other after suffering crushing defeats in their previous games.

Kings XI Punjab had lost their previous encounter by ten wickets against Chennai Super Kings. The KL Rahul-led side did well with the bat again as they scored 178 but it turned out to be too less in the end as Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis shared an unbeaten stand on 181 runs in less than 18 overs to take CSK over the finishing line.

The defeat against CSK has pretty much become the template for Kings XI Punjab over the last three years. With some explosive names in the batting department, they have done well with the bat but the bowlers’ failure to compliment the batsmen’s effort has hurt the team.

Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul
Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (Credits: IPLT20)

With just 1 win from five games, they are languishing at the bottom of the points table and are in danger of missing out on a playoff spot once again if they don’t get back to winning ways quickly.

Things are not very promising for SRH either. With just two wins from five games, they are currently at sixth spot. Their big names – David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson and Manish Pandey have contributed in a few games but have not fired consistently.

And once they fail, SRH have very little experience in their middle-order which has the likes of Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma and Abdul Samad. Recently, they suffered a huge injury blow when they lost their pace spearhead Bhuvneshwar Kumar for the entire season.

Toss report:

Sunrisers Hyderabad have won the toss and have decided to bat first against Kings XI Punjab.

Playing elevens:

Sunrisers Hyderabad:

David Warner(c), Jonny Bairstow(w), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan

Kings XI Punjab:

KL Rahul(w/c), Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Prabhsimran Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell, Arshdeep Singh