Image Courtesy: BCCI/Web/Twitter.

The year 2018 will see the lucrative Indian premier league hosts it’s 11th edition after a successful iconic 10th edition in 2017, which saw the Mumbai Indians emerge victoriously. The mega IPL auction of the biggest T20 carnival in the world is likely to take place in the last week of January with Goa being the preferred spot. However, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) officials are reconsidering the venue because of the Christmas and New Year rush.

Image Courtesy: Twitter

The retention policy was finalized after the prolonged hassle over a long period of time which will see the core of the teams remain the same. Each team will be allowed to retain 3 players and two right-to-match cards,  while the others will go up under the hammer. Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals will also make their grand returns after serving a two-year ban.

The IPL will see new a beginning with its 11th edition with a change in the broadcasters. Star Sports will telecast the tournament this time after they won the rights from Sony Max who have been putting it up on TV for 10 years.

Also read: (DRS Likely to be Implemented in the Next Edition of IPL)

“The player pool available for Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals for retention/Right to Match will be the players’ who played for them respectively in IPL 2015 and who were part of RPS and Gujarat Lions squads in IPL 2017,” BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Choudha said recently.

IPL retention rule

The salary budget of the franchises for the auction also saw a rise from the IPL Governing Council from 66 crores to 80 crores this year.

“The minimum spend will be 75 per cent of the salary cap for each season,” the BCCI stated. The player rules for the Right to Match are maximum number of three Capped Indian players, maximum number of two overseas players, maximum number of two uncapped Indian players.

STAR India bagged the global rights for a five-year period for a whopping Rs 16,347.50 crore, in an auction held in September 2017.