Jasprit Bumrah has bowled most number of no balls since his debut
/

Jasprit Bumrah tops the charts for the most number of no balls since his debut

Jasprit Bumrah
ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 26: Jasprit Bumrah of India reacts after taking the wicket of Cameron Boyce of Australia and to win the game for India during game one of the Twenty20 International match between Australia and India at Adelaide Oval on January 26, 2016 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

Jasprit Bumrah
MUMBAI, INDIA – MARCH 12: Jasprit Bumrah of India bowls during the ICC Twenty20 World Cup warm-up match between India and South Africa at Wankhede Stadium on March 12, 2016, in Mumbai, India. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images,)

Unorthodox pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been quite a revolution for India since his debut in 2016. The lanky fast bowler wore the Indian coloured jersey for the first time against the Aussies, and there has been no stopping him ever since. With crucial breakthroughs now and then, Bumrah has established himself as one of India’s most lethal weapons. However, there is one aspect of the game where Bumrah needs to work on, and he must do it immediately.

One of the major concerns of the bowler is with his habit of overstepping pretty often. The 24-year-old has created a record for the most number of no balls by any bowler since his introduction to the international level. While Bumrah leads the charts with 15, the second position is occupied by Peter Chase of Ireland.

We saw another example of a Jasprit Bumrah no-ball today, which might prove costly for his team. The Rohit Sharma led Indian side found themselves in huge trouble taking on the Sri Lankans at Dharamshala. Succumbing to a mere score of 112, the Indian bowlers had a mammoth task of defending the small total. Despite wickets from Bumrah himself and Bhuvneshwar Kumar at the beginning of the Sri Lankan innings, the Sri Lankans seem to have steadied their ship.

However, Upul Tharanga who scored a crucial 49 runs for the Lions edged one straight to gully off a Jasprit Bumrah delivery. Though the catch was taken, Tharanga got his life back because of the signalling of a no-ball from the umpire.

This is not the very first time a Bumrah no-ball proved costly for the Indians. Jasprit Bumrah picked up the wicket of Fakhar Zaman in the ICC Champions Trophy final between Indian and Pakistan earlier this year but was denied a wicket for overstepping. Zaman went on to punish the Indians in the right way smashing a brilliant 114 run knock which proved too much for the men in blue. India lost the final to Pakistan handing them their maiden Champions Trophy title.