Former India skipper Kapil Dev will head a three-member ad-hoc panel to select the new Head Coach as well as the new five-member national selection committee. Committee of Administrators (CAC) has approached to three former cricketers — Kapil Dev, Anshuman Gaekwad and Shantha Rangaswamy to decide on the future.

Read More: Breaking: Inzamam-ul-Haq Steps Down As Pakistan Chief Selector

Kapil to decide India’s next coach

The ad-hoc committee will replace the three-member Cricket Advisory Committee and will undertake specific tasks. In two separate meetings held in the last couple of months, the CoA approved the decision to appoint the ad-hoc panel. BCCI General Manager (Cricket Operations) Saba Karim had approached Kapil, Gaekwad and Rangaswamy with the request and all three have agreed to be on the panel to select the next head coach.

MSK Prasad. (Credits: PTI)

Also read: Five Things Fans Will Miss If MS Dhoni Retires

According to the new BCCI constitution, the CAC or the ad-hoc panel can only pick the Head Coach. On the other hand, BCCI CEO Rahul Johri can only select the rest of the support staffs which includes batting coach, bowling coach, fielding coach, trainer, physio and the administrative manager. But, likely, the ad-hoc panel headed by Kapil Dev will also make recommendations for the support staffs.

Read More: Smriti Mandhana Bestowed With Arjuna Award

Interestingly, the tenure of the selection panel headed by MSK Prasad has also come to an end. CoA has also tasked the ad-hoc group to pick the new national selection committee. The current men’s national selection committee features former cricketers Sarandeep Singh, Devang Gandhi, Jatin Paranjpe, Gagan Khoda and chairman Prasad.

The current crop of selectors will do their job for the last time when they pick the squad for the tour of West Indies on July 19.