Kedar Jadhav | Washington Sundar | India vs Sri Lanka 2017 |

India v Sri Lanka 2017: Kedar Jadhav Out Due To Hamstring, Washington Sundar In

Kedar Jadhav, BCCI
Kedar Jadhav (Photo Credit: BCCI)

India batsman Kedar Jadhav has been ruled out of the ODI series against Sri Lanka. He suffered a hamstring injury on Friday during the practice session and was ruled out later.

Kedar Jadhav was set to undergo the fitness test at NCA on Saturday which would have decided his availability for the series but Jadhav is yet to fully recover from the injury.

Washington Sundar
Image Courtesy: Twitter

Tamil Nadu all-rounder Washington Sundar has been called in as his replacement. Sundar, who recently passed the yo-yo test, is a part of the T20I side to face Sri Lanka and has made it to the ODI side as well.

( READ MORE – Fastest 4000 Runs in ODI )

It is to be noted that looking at the injury concerns, the BCCI had already barred limited overs players from playing Ranji Trophy, the reason why players like Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Jasprit Bumrah and Axar Patel did not play for their respective states despite being available after being the completion of the T20I series against New Zeland.

The news of him being ruled out has come as a big blow for Jadhav, who is still to establish himself in limited overs format. He has already been ruled out of the T20I format and if Washington Sundar (if he makes his debut) does well in his debut series, Jadhav could see losing his place to the youngster.

In all likeliness, Sundar is expected to make his debut as he is like to like replacement for Jadhav. In fact, his spin bowling abilities are more than Jadhav if compared.

It is also to be noted that Sundar is a flexible batsman is batting order and can bat at any position. He has opened for Tamil Nadu in Ranji Trophy and for India U19 as well while has batted down the order as well.

The first ODI of the series will be played in Dharamsala on December 10. The second and the third ODI will be played on December 13 and 17 in Mohali and Visakhapatnam.

Rohit Sharma, team India’s vice-captain, will be making his captaincy debut at international level as he will stand for Virat Kohli – who has been rested for the limited overs series.

Updated India squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Washington Sundar.

Video of the day –