Kolkata Knight Riders Likely To Release Carlos Brathwaite, Lockie Ferguson Ahead Of IPL 2020 Auction

Last Update on: August 7th, 2019 at 11:23 am

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Kolkata Knight Riders are likely to release Carlos Brathwaite and Lockie Ferguson prior to the auction for the next season of Indian Premier League, a per a report in Indian Express suggests. Both the players did not have a great run in IPL 2019.

Also Read: Ravi Shastri likely to be retained as team India’s head coach – report

Brathwaite, who was purchased by KKR for a huge price of Rs 5 Crore, was given a chance in just two matches in the previous season. The Windies’ T20I captain got to play just 10 balls and bowled just three overs. The team combination saw him sit out for 12 matches in the season.

Virat Kohli, Lockie Ferguson, India vs New Zealand 2019
Lockie Ferguson. Credit: Getty Images

Ferguson also had a poor run in the tournament. In five matches that he played, the Kiwi pacer went for 183 runs at an economy rate of 10.76. He was bought by the franchise at Rs 1.6 Crores before the season. KKR’s poor bowling throughout the season was the biggest reason behind the team failing to qualify for the playoffs.

The Kolkata-based franchise is expected to make few changes in the squad before the auction for the next season.

Read More  ICC World Cup 2023 Team List

Also Read: Faf du Plessis likely to be sacked as limited-overs captain

KKR, last month, parted ways with head coach Jacques Kallis and assistant coach Simon Katich. It was later reported that the franchise was interested to bring back Trevor Bayliss as its head coach but Sunrisers Hyderabad roped in the World Cup-winning coach, after releasing veteran Tom Moody.

Kolkata Knight Riders Likely To Release Carlos Brathwaite, Lockie Ferguson Ahead Of IPL 2020 Auction

For now, Dinesh Karthik looks set to be retained as captain of the side but there could be a change in captaincy as well if the new coach opts for a complete overhaul, like what happened in 2011.

Read More : Jason Roy Played A Brainless Shot In 2nd Innings, England Should Move Him Down The Order: Geoffrey Boycott

Kolkata Knight Riders, the two-time champions, won their maiden IPL title in 2012 and followed up with another championship win in 2014, both under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir.

Read More : Top Stories: Your Daily News Roundup – 6th August 2019

After IPL 2017, the franchise did not retain Gambhir and appointed Dinesh Karthik as its captain. Robin Uthappa, one of the longest-serving players for KKR, was named deputy to him.