IPL. (Credits: Twitter)

The auction for Indian Premier League’s (IPL) next season set to take place in 2020 will be held on December 19. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have also decided to change the venue of the event. Traditionally, Bengaluru hosted the show. But this year, the BCCI has decided to give the opportunity to Kolkata to host the event. For the last edition too, a different venue – Jaipur – was chosen to host the auction in January.

Read More: Watch: Gautam Gambhir Shares Video Of Pakistan’s Security Arrangement For Sri Lanka

The upcoming auction is set to be a small affair. The teams will not get a chance to overhaul their squads and only add some more players or release few in order to bolster their existing squad. But for IPL 2021, the franchises will have to disband their squads and will get a chance to assemble new teams at the mega auction.

Indian Premier League, IPL 2020 Auctions
IPL trophy. (Credits: Twitter)

The last auction was a big affair with as many as 351 players up for grabs for a possible 70 seats. All the eight teams were allowed to retain a maximum of five players from their squad. Out of those five, the teams could retain only three during the retention period. The teams also had the chance to use three right-to-match cards at the auction. In the last auction, 60 players were sold with Jaydev Unadkat and Varun Chakaravarthy emerging as the costliest players.

Also Read: Brisbane Heat Sign AB de Villiers For BBL|9

According to media reports, the trading window would close in November, a month before the auction gets underway.  ESPNcricnfo has reported that the BCCI has already informed the teams about the trading window’s closing date. Talking about the purse, all the teams were originally allotted INR 85 crore for the next auction. Every franchise will also have an additional purse of INR 3 crore from the last auction.

As of now, Delhi Capitals boast of the biggest purse. They have INR 8.2 crore in their purse and are followed by Rajasthan Royal (INR 7.15 crore) Kolkata Knight Riders (INR 6.05 crore), Sunrisers Hyderabad (INR 5.3 crore), Kings XI Punjab (INR 3.7 crore), Chennai Super Kings (INR 3.2 crore), Mumbai Indians (INR 3.05 crore) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (INR 1.8 crore).