Bengaluru Blasters vs Mysuru Warriors

The 2019 edition of Karnataka Premier League (KPL) will kick off with last year’s runner-up Bengaluru Blasters going up against Mysuru Warriors on August 16 (Friday) at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. It will be a cracker of an encounter with both the teams aiming to start on a winning note.

Read More: Former India Batsman VB Chandrasekhar Dies Aged 57

Bengaluru Blasters, who finished as the runners-up will look to go all the way this time around. They ended at the top of the points table after the league stage with five wins from six matches and will want to repeat a similar effort. Moreover, the Blasters defeated Mysuru Warriors in the semifinals to progress through to the finals before losing to Bijapur Bulls. The Rongsen Jonathan-led side will bank on opener Rohan Kadam to give them brisk start. The opener is coming from the back of an excellent Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy performance, scoring 536 from 12 innings. Meanwhile, they will look forward to Anand Doddamani to lead their side on the bowling front.

Also read: Cricket Fraternity Shocked As VB Chandrasekhar Commits Suicide

For Mysuru Warriors, skipper Amit Verma and all-rounder Aniruddha Joshi would form the core of Mysuru Warriors, while skipper Jagadeesha Suchith will lead their bowling attack. They lost in the semifinals last year to Bengaluru Blasters to bow out of the competition and will hope to overcome the hurdle this time. The Warriors have a few match-winners in their ranks and will bank on them to deliver the goods for his side.

Weather Forecast

The weather forecast for Bengaluru shows high chances of rain with a maximum of 70 percent. Both teams – Bengaluru Blasters and Mysuru Warriors will want some actions in the campaign opener.

Read More: BCCI To Announce The Name Of India’s Next Head Coach On Friday Evening

Pitch Condition

Bengaluru have produced high-scoring belters in recent times. With the first game of the season, one can expect a lot of runs scored on this wicket. However, some rain before the start of the game can slow the wicket helping the bowlers to come into the play.

Also read: Best Catch At Short Leg? Watch As Cameron Bancroft Takes An Unbelievable Catch


Bengaluru Blasters: Nishant Shekhawat, Rongsen Jonathan(c), Rishi Bopanna, Rohan Kadam, KN Bharath, Sharath BR(w), Anurag Bajpai, Manoj S Bhandage, Bharath Dhuri, V Koushik, Anand Doddamani, Anil I G, Nikin Jose, Bharath Devaraj, Muthanna Chandrashekhar, Kishore Kamat, Kuldeep Kumar, Aditya Goyal

Mysuru Warriors: Amit Verma(c), Shoaib Manager, Praveera Venkatesh Murthy, Krishnamurthy Siddharth, Manjesh Reddy, LR Chethan(w), Jagadeesha Suchith, Vinay Sagar, Dega Nischal, Aniruddha Joshi, BU Shivkumar, Vyshak Vijay Kumar, Devaiah, Kushal Wadhwani, Saurabh Yadav, Sankalp Shettennavar, Ram Sarikh Yadav, Kishan S Bedare, Jayesh Babu, Utham Aiyappa

Also read: Team India’s Batting Coach Candidates And Their Experience

Match Prediction

Bengaluru Blasters have been a dominant side whenever these two sides have gone against each other. The latest being the semifinal of last year’s edition when they defeated Mysuru Warriors to make it to the finals. As a result, the Blasters will begin as the favourites to make a winning start to KPL 2019.

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making...