PSL 2018 | Pakistan | Pakistan Super League | Kevin Pietersen |

Large Contingent of Overseas Players to Feature in Pakistan-leg of PSL

England Players
England Players

The UAE-leg of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) drew curtains with Karachi Kings and Peshawar Zalmi filling the last two spots for the playoffs.

The action now moves to Pakistan, as Lahore and Karachi host the final leg of PSL this season.

The good news for Pakistan cricket enthusiasts is that majority of foreign players have agreed to board the flight to the country and feature in the play-offs avoiding the security concerns,

There loomed a cloud of doubt regarding the participation of the foreign players in the league in the final stages of the competition. Much like PSL 2016, the entire squad of defending champions Peshawar Zalmi agreed to tour Pakistan.

Salman Irshad, Lahore Qalandars, PSL 2018, UAE, Misbah-Ul-Haq, Lasith Malinga, Michael Slater
JP Duminy of Islamabad United. Photo Credit: PSL.

Barring England captain Eoin Morgan, the entire roster of Karachi Kings is anticipated to land at Lahore for the playoffs.

Much like their captain, Alex Hales, Sam Billings and Steven Finn are sceptical regarding travelling to Pakistan. Though the organizers are awaiting a positive response from the two Englishmen in the Islamabad United camp.

Kevin Pietersen announces Retirement ahead of the playoffs.

The other internationals in the United’s squad, namely, Samit Patel, JP Duminy and Luke Ronchi have all agreed to tour Pakistan.

Thisara Perera and Mahmudullah to join the Gladiators

Large Contingent of Overseas Players to Feature in Pakistan-leg of PSL
Kevin Pietersen of Quetta Gladiators. Credits: Geo TV

Moreover, Quetta Gladiators’ are the worst hit with the move of the tournament to Pakistan, as English players Jason Roy and Kevin Pietersen, along with Aussie stalwarts Ben Laughlin and Shane Watson, have all denied featuring in Pakistan for the knockout stages.

With the conclusion of ongoing Nidahas Trophy, Quetta will acquire the services of Mahmudullah and Thisara Perera into their ranks for the Pakistan-leg of PSL. The other hopefuls to travel Pakistan are South Africa star Rilee Rossouw and BBL star Chris Green.

The first eliminator between Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators will be held at the iconic Gadaffi Stadium at Lahore on Tuesday. While the finals will get hosted at National Stadium, Karachi.

The day-night Test match will happen only when COA approves: Amitabh Choudhary