The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a giant event, and over the years it has only gone grander. In 11 seasons played so far, there have a few dominating franchises including CSK and MI, who had won the league thrice. What’s common in them is their core members and the captain. When it comes to the skippers, both MS Dhoni (Chennai) and Rohit Sharma (MI) have shared six trophies among each other. Subsequently, there have been a few captains who had failed to inspire their team to win a title, even once. However, there have also been a few lesser-known captains in IPL history. It’s time we shed some light on them –

Five lesser-known captains in IPL history –

  • Ross Taylor (Pune Warriors India – 2013)

Ross Taylor, five lesser-known captains in IPL history
Ross Taylor. Image Courtesy: Google

Though he is a veteran name and a former New Zealand captain as well, Ross had captained IPL franchise, Pune Warriors India in the past. It was in 2013 when Taylor led the team for just one game. However, he couldn’t inspire Pune to a win; he did enter a list of lesser-known captains in IPL history. Meanwhile, in seven seasons he had played, Taylor has scored 1017 runs in 55 matches at a strike rate of 123.72.

  • Dwayne Bravo (Mumbai Indians – 2010)

Dwayne Bravo, five lesser-known captains in IPL history
Dwayne Bravo. Image Courtesy: Getty

The Windies all-rounder is perhaps the most sort-after players in the Indian Premier League. Dwayne Bravo had plied his trade for two franchises (CSK and MI) in the past and is a two-time IPL winner as well. However, for just one game for Mumbai Indians in 2010, he had captained the side. Like Taylor, Bravo couldn’t find success, as the home side, KKR defeated MI by seven wickets.

  • Angelo Mathews (Pune Warriors India – 2013)

Angelo Mathews, five lesser-known captains in IPL history
Angelo Mathews. Image Courtesy: BCCI

Former Sri Lanka captain, Angelo Mathews also led under-fire Pune Warriors India in 2013. He captained the team in five matches, finding success in one and losing four. The situation was so bad for them that for the third time in the season, Pune had to change two skippers – Aaron Finch and Ross Taylor. The Sri Lanka all-rounder, meanwhile, had last played two seasons back in 2017 and had scored 724 runs in 49 matches till date.

  • Darren Sammy (Sunrisers Hyderabad – 2014)

Darren Sammy, five lesser-known captains in IPL history
Darren Sammy. Image Courtesy: Getty

The two-time T20I World Cup-winning captain with the Windies, Darren Sammy had also been a skipper for a franchise in the IPL. In 2014, while donning the jersey for Sunrisers Hyderabad, the Windies all-rounder had captained for four matches, winning two and losing two. Though he had been a force to reckon with at the lower order, Sammy couldn’t push the hierarchy to keep him leading the team for a more extended period.

  • Shaun Pollock (Mumbai Indians – 2008)

Shaun Pollock, five lesser-known captains in IPL history
Shaun Pollock. Image Courtesy: Getty

The veteran South Africa all-rounder, Shaun Pollock had also been Mumbai Indians’ skipper in 2008. During the only season, he played the IPL; Pollock had captained the Mumbai in four games; winning three and losing a mere one. In eight innings, Pollock scored 147 runs and took 11 wickets.