Lord's Cricket Ground Unveils The Non-Honours Board XI; Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli Amongst The Elite Ones

Lord’s Cricket Ground Unveils The Non-Honours Board XI; Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli Amongst The Elite Ones

Lord's. MCC Membership, Lord's Cricket Ground, MCC Membership Card
Lord's Cricket Ground Credits: Lord's via Twitter

The Lord’s Cricket Ground perhaps is the most iconic of all the cricketing grounds in the world. Officially, known as the Home of Cricket, reaching a landmark on its soil is a massive achievement and a dream come true for most cricketers. Yet, the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Shane Warne, and Wasim Akram haven’t done the same. They all have formed a part of non-honours Board XI that also includes the current Indian captain, Virat Kohli.

Also Read: Eoin Morgan Wants 2020 T20 World Cup To Be Postponed 

The failure of such legendary cricketers to reach an elusive mark at the Lord’s Cricket Ground has earned them a spot at the non-honours Board XI. It starts with one of their fellow countryman, WG Grace, who made 1098 runs in 22 Tests. Partnering Grace at the top is India’s Virender Sehwag, who has 23 Test centuries but failed to get to three-figure mark at Lord’s.

Virat Kohli (Photo-Getty)

Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara follow them next. The legendary duo played eight Tests at the Lord’s but couldn’t score a ton in any of their innings. Lara’s highest at the park is 54 in three matches while Tendulkar’s best is 37 in five fixtures. As far as Virat Kohli is concerned, he has only 65 runs under his belt at the venue.

The all-rounder, wicket-keeper, and bowlers to not have crossed a milestone at the Lord’s Cricket Ground:

Jacques Kallis, who is one of the splendid all-rounders, also makes a list. Kallis couldn’t manage a century nor a five-wicket haul at the Lord’s. In three games, the retired cricketer has 54 runs alongside six wickets. Australia’s Adam Gilchrist sneaks into the eleven, having had a high score of 90 in two Tests.

Shane Warne,
Shane Warne bagged 708 Test scalps in 273 innings. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Coming to the bowlers, Shane Warne, who is the second-highest wicket-taker in the format, couldn’t add a five-wicket haul at the Lord’s Cricket Ground to his repertoire. Pakistan’s former left-arm gem Wasim Akram, Aussie great Dennis Lillee, and the enigmatic West Indian Curtly Ambrose complete the list.