Sri Lanka Cricket, Coronavirus, Sri Lanka, LKR 25 Million, England tour of Sri Lanka 2020
(Source: Twitter)

Last Update on: October 23rd, 2020 at 04:22 pm

The schedule for the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020 was announced on Friday with Colombo Kings and Galle Gladiators squaring off in the opener. The match will take place at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium in Hambantota on the 21st of November. The Pallekele International Cricket Stadium would stage the two semi-finals and the tournament-decider in Kandy.

Earlier, Indian cricketers like Manvinder Bisla and Manpreet Gony earned biddings from Colombo Kings in the LPL draft. The likes of Andre Russell, Faf Du Plessis, Chris Gayle, Angelo Mathews, Dawid Malan, Shahid Afridi, Colin Ingram, Hazratullah Zazai, Lasith Malinga, and Mohammad Amir received calls too. Hence, after the IPL, the LPL 2020 promises to be an enthralling competition as well.

Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020: Full Schedule Of The Inaugural Edition Announced
Sri Lanka Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa. (Credits: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa underlined that after the success of IPL, there were talks about staging a T20 league in Sri Lanka as well; however, it could not take place. Nevertheless, the Sri Lankan cricket board and Ministry of Youth and Sports have worked to make the competition a reality, which is vital for the future of Sri Lanka cricket.

Following the success of Indian Premier League (IPL), the possibility of holding such a tournament in Sri Lanka was much talked about for many years but unfortunately, it didn’t happen. But now, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and the Ministry of Youth and Sports have been in discussions for weeks to make this tournament a reality as it is essential for the future of Sri Lankan cricket,” Rajapaksa stated as quoted by ANI News.

The full schedule of Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020: (All timings as per local)

November 21: Colombo v Galle (7.30pm)

November 22: Kandy v Jaffna (3pm); Colombo v Dambulla (7.30pm)

November 23: Colombo v Galle (3pm); Dambulla v Jaffna (7.30pm)

November 25: Galle v Dambula (3pm); Colombo v Kandy (7.30pm)

November 26: Kandy v Jaffna (3pm); Dambulla v Colombo (7.30pm)

November 28: Jaffna v Colombo (3pm); Kandy v Galle (7.30pm)

December 2: Kandy v Dambulla (3pm); Jaffna v Galle (7.30pm)

December 3: Dambulla v Galle (3pm); Kandy v Colombo (7.30pm)

December 5: Jaffna v Colombo (3pm); Galle v Kandy (7.30pm)

December 6: Dambulla v Jaffna (7.30pm)

December 9: Dambulla v Kandy (3pm); Galle v Jaffna (7.30pm)

December 10: Semi-final 1 (7.30pm)

December 11: Semi-final 2 (7.30pm)

December 13: Final (7.30pm – reserve day December 14)

Also Read: Lankan Premier League 2020 (LPL): Complete Squads Of All Five Franchises