Former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was spot on to help his batting partner Jasprit Bumrah when the former straightaway signalled for a “T” for the Decision Review System (DRS) at the non-striker’s end after the latter was adjudged LBW by the on-field umpire against Sri Lanka in Dharamshala ODI.
But was Dhoni’s reaction correct? According to the rulebook of the world cricket body International Cricket Council (ICC), it would be a big ‘no’ when it comes to the implementation of the DRS.
It’s pertinent to mention that, India was in dire straits after batting first in the first One-day International of the three-match series at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium where Sri Lankan bowlers bowled well, and the bowling spearhead Suranga Lakmal starred with the white-ball, as he finished his figures of four for 13 in 10 overs.
Moreover, Dhoni had left his fans stunned with his spot on DRS call after umpire Anil Chaudhary raised his dreaded finger.
However, it was pretty evident on the final delivery of 33rd over of Indian innings that saw Dhoni breaking the rule while signalling “T” when Bumrah saw the ball from left-arm orthodox spinner Sachith Parthirana wrapped his front pad before the loud appeal forced Chaudhary to declare him out.
The fans were in awe of Dhoni for saving his partner when the TV replays suggested the ball was missing the off-stump by quite a margin.
The decision got reversed by the third umpire Paul Reiffel, who hails from Australia and the spectators inside the stadium were delighted after the big screen displayed not-out.
Read Further: Rejuvenated Sri Lanka Drubs India in Dharamsala ODI
However, Dhoni, who is one of the astute thinkers, knows the game well further got carried away which further saw him scoring vital 65 runs in the overall team total of 112.
Under the leadership of stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma, Indian batting line-up fell lack pack of cards in 38.4 overs.
So much so, many termed the DRS System, as ‘Dhoni Review System’ which has had justified how Dhoni has been accurate when it comes to challenging the decision. According to the Player Reviews based out on the playing conditions the batsman, who is supposed to be based can request for the review, as non-striker has only the power to give him the suggestion whether to go upstairs or not.
Pertinently, Chaudhary seemed to have missed the trick by accepting Dhoni’s call rather than Burmah’s which has been against the procedure of the rules and regulations that were made available by the ICC.
“Only the batsman involved in a dismissal may request a Player Review of an Out decision and only the captain (or acting captain) of the fielding team may request a Player Review of a Not out decision,” the ICC rule maintained in article 3.1.3 on Player Reviews owing to the ICC ODI Playing Conditions procedure.
While ICC rules are throwing the light on the review system which has the timebound of around 15-seconds and if batsman delayed it could be deemed as ‘time out’. With Sri Lanka leading the three-match series 1-0, the second ODI is scheduled at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali on December 13 (Wednesday).