Manoj Tiwary To Lead Bengal In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Zonal League

Manoj Tiwary
Manoj Tiwary might be called in the playing XI to replace Yuvraj Singh (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Manoj Tiwary will continue to lead Bengal side in the season as he has been appointed as the captain of Bengal for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Zonal League.

(Read Here: Dale Steyn doubtful for first Test against India)

Manoj Tiwary To Lead Bengal In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Zonal League

Sudip Chatterjee will assist the skipper. The team includes likes of Ashoke Dinda, veteran Anustup Majumar, Kanishk Sheth, Amir Gani, Sayan Ghosh along with some new faces.

Bengal will miss the services of Wriddhiman Saha and Mohammed Shami. Both the players are a part of the Test side to face South Africa in the series starting on January 5. Saha though will be available for Bengal for the Vijay Hazare Trophy tournament as he is not the ODI team.

(Read Here: Ashish Nehra, Gary Kirsten join RCB coaching staff)

Manoj Tiwary To Lead Bengal In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Zonal League

On the other hand, Shami will have an extended stay in South Africa as he has made a comeback in ODI format. Both Shami and Saha played few games for Bengal in the Ranji Trophy.

Bengal will also not be able to gain services of Ishan Porel as he is in New Zealand with the U19 side for the junior World Cup.

The upcoming T20 tournament is a chance for all the players to attract the attention of franchises by performing in the T20 tournament which was preponed by BCCI keeping in mind the IPL auction, to be held on January 27 and 28.

In the inaugural season of tweaked format of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Bengal emerged at the table topper in the Zonal league and later, Manoj Tiwary led the East Zone to a title victory later.

This year again Bengal will face Odisha, Jharkhand, Tripura and Assam in the Zonal League.

Bengal squad: Manoj Tiwary (captain), Sudip Chatterjee (vice-captain), Sreevats Goswami, Vivek Singh, Pramod Chandila, Writtick Chatterjee, Anustup Majumder, Kanishk Seth, Ashok Dinda, Sayan Ghosh, Mukesh Kumar, Anurag Tiwary, Aamir Gani, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Sumanta Gupta, Abhimanyu Easwaran.

(Read Here: Chandrakant Pandit was confident of winning Ranji Trophy)

(Read Here: Ambati Rayudu to lead Hyderabad in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy)

Video of the day –

Related Posts