MCA To Name Three Blocks At Wankhede Stadium After Former Captain Dilip Vengsarkar

MCA To Name Three Blocks At Wankhede Stadium After Former Captain Dilip Vengsarkar

Dilip Vengsarkar | India | KL Rahul
Dilip Vengsarkar. Credits: Thulasi Kakkat.

The MCA [Mumbai Cricket Association]s, in its apex cricket council meeting on Tuesday, decided to name the three blocks (from the far eastern end) of the North Stand at the Wankhede stadium after former Indian captain and the erstwhile chairman of selectors Dilip Vengsarkar.

A proposal to this effect was suggested by Apex Council member Nadim Menon earlier this month. The resolution to pass the move was ‘unanimously accepted’ in the meeting.

Dilip Vengasarkar, who holds the feat of scoring three consecutive hundreds at the ‘Home of Cricket’ Lord’s, represented India between 1976-92, racking up 6868 Test runs and 3508 runs in 129 ODIs.

“The Apex Council was unanimous in their approval to name a stand after Vengsarkar. The Chief Executive Officer will assess the exact place [for the honour],” MCA secretary Sanjay Naik was quoted as saying by ‘Mid-Day’

Also Read- Aaron Finch Set To Play Till 2023 World Cup In India

Dilip Vengsarkar included in the MCA museum

MCA, Dilip Vengsarkar
Dilip Vengsarkar says playing Australia before the World Cup is of great practice. Image Courtesy: Getty

The MCA has also included Dilip Vengsarkar in its museum committee which includes the likes of former president Ravi Savant, ex-BCCI official Ratnakar Shetty, MCA CEO CS Naik, former BCCI media manager Devendra Prabhudesai, former committee member Naveen Shetty and senior journalist Clayton Murzello.

”The Apex Council has unanimously agreed to honour the living legend with 10 AC box tickets. Even other living Mumbai legends will be given a similar honour once the office-bearers finalise the criteria,” added Sanjay Naik.

The MCA Apex Council member Ajinkya Naik has also proposed to name a specific seat at Wankhede in memory of former captain MS Dhoni to commemorate the memory of the 2011 World Cup-winning six. Naik also suggested to preserve the ball that was used in the 2011 final between India and Sri Lanka.

Also Read- KL Rahul Looking Forward To His Maiden Captaincy Stint In IPL 2020

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.