MCC Backs Deepti Sharma's Mankading Incident Of England's Charlotte Dean
Deepti Sharma. (Credits: Twitter)

Following India all-rounder, Deepti Sharma’s Mankading incident to run out England’s Charlotte Dean for moving outside the crease at the non-striker’s end at Lord’s on Saturday, the MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club) has backed Team India and reminded one and all of the changes brought about to the game.

In a statement released on Sunday, the MCC, known as the custodians of the Laws of Cricket, said, “MCC this year announced amendments to the laws of cricket to move being run out at the non-striker’s end, from Law 41 unfair play, to Law 38 run out.”

Deepti Sharma. PC-AFP
Deepti Sharma. PC-AFP

Deepti Sharma’s Mankading was within MCC Laws

“This change will formally come into effect from 1 October 2022. This was done to clarify this matter and to place an onus on batters to ensure that they do not leave the crease at the non-striker’s end, prior to a bowler releasing the ball.

“The Law is clear, as it needs to be for all umpires to be able to easily interpret throughout all levels of the game and at all moments in the game.

“Cricket is a broad church and the spirit by which it is played is no different. As custodians of the Spirit of Cricket, MCC appreciates its application is interpreted differently across the globe.”

MCC backs the decision of the match officials

“Respectful debate is healthy and should continue, as where one person sees the bowler as breaching the Spirit in such examples, another will point at the non-striker gaining an unfair advantage by leaving their ground early.

“MCC’s message to non-strikers continues to be to remain in their ground until they have seen the ball leave the bowler’s hand. Then dismissals, such as the one seen yesterday, cannot happen.

MCC Backs Deepti Sharma's Mankading Incident Of England's Charlotte Dean MCC Backs Deepti Sharma's Mankading Incident Of England's Charlotte Dean MCC Backs Deepti Sharma's Mankading Incident Of England's Charlotte Dean MCC Backs Deepti Sharma's Mankading Incident Of England's Charlotte Dean

“Whilst yesterday was indeed an unusual end to an exciting match, it was properly officiated and should not be considered as anything more,” it concluded.’

ALSO READ: ‘Well Within The Laws But Not Within The Spirit Of Cricket:’ Twitter Reacts After Deepti Sharma’s Run Out Of Charlie Dean At Non-striker’s End At Lord’s