Melbourne Renegades Sign Up Imad Wasim For Upcoming BBL

Melbourne Renegades Sign Up Imad Wasim For Upcoming BBL

Imad Wasim
Imad Wasim (Credits: Getty Images)

Melbourne Renegades have further bolstered their spin attack by signing Pakistan star Imad Wasim for the upcoming season of Big Bash League (BBL). The left-arm spinner and middle-order batsman has become Renegades’ fifth overseas signing, the club announced on Thursday.

The Melbourne-based outfit previously signed international wrist-spinners Imran Tahir and Noor Ahmad. They have also brought back Afghanistan superstar and an off-spinning allrounder Mohammad Nabi for the forthcoming season, scheduled to start on December 10.

Imad Wasim
Imad Wasim (Credits: Twitter)

The Renegades also have leg-spinner Cameron Boyce, one of their key men during their BBL 2018 title run and their leading wicket taker last season, and former Test spinner Jon Holland in their ranks.

Having helped Karachi Kings wins their first PSL title last month, Imad Wasim will not be available until December 26 because of the national team commitments. He is a part of Pakistan’s T20I team for the upcoming three-match series against New Zealand.

“Imad is one of the best T20 players in the world with his ability to impact games with the ball and to finish the innings with the bat,” Renegades coach Michael Klinger said. “He’s an experienced player with recent title success, he’s capable of bowling in the powerplay and he’ll strengthen our middle order batting.

Imad Wasim will definitely be a valuable addition to the Renegades squad. The left-arm spinner is one of the best T20I bowlers in the world. In international cricket, he averages 21.93 and has a phenomenal economy-rate of just 6.17. He is also a handy batter, averaging 43 in ODIs with five half-centuries.

Melbourne Renegades squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Noor Ahmad (OS), Cameron Boyce, Zak Evans, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Sam Harper, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Jon Holland, Josh Lalor, Shaun Marsh, Mohammad Nabi (OS), James Pattinson, Mitch Perry, Jack Prestwidge, Kane Richardson, Rilee Roussow (OS), Will Sutherland, Imran Tahir (OS), Imad Wasim (OS)*, Beau Webster

Also Read: Sourav Ganguly Reacts To Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja’s Stunning Display Against Australia

Also Read: Ben Stokes Fires Warning To Other Teams Ahead Of Next Year’s T20 World Cup