Mitchell Santner, Babar Azam Leads ICC's T20I Players Ranking

Pakistan batsman Babar Azam and New Zealand bowler Mitchell Santner have topped the MRF Tyres ICC Players Rankings for T20I Batsmen and Bowlers respectively. Babar and Santner were top performers for their respective sides in the recently concluded T20 series between Pakistan and New Zealand, the former winning it by 2-1.

Babar rose of 11 places as he finished as the leading run-scorer in the series (109 runs) that has put him on top for the first time. He now leads Australia’s Aaron Finch (784 points) by two points.

Babar is the second Pakistani batsmen to achieve this feat after Misbah-ul-Haq, who had climbed to the number-one spot in 2009.

Colin Munro, Tehere, New Zealand, IPL, IPL Players Auction 2018, IPL 11, Bengaluru
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Swashbuckling New Zealand opener Colin Munro, who started the series as the No one batsmen slipped to the fourth spot after a disappointing series. He registered only 50 runs in this series.

Ahmed Shehzad is his side’s second highest-ranked batsman in the shortest format as he finds himself in the 25th spot. However, Sarfraz Ahmed and Fakahar Zaman were the biggest gainers.

Sarfraz’s 79 runs in the series lifted him from 76th position to 55th, while Fakhar has occupied the 71st spot after rising 41 places following his series aggregate of 99 runs.

Left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner has leapfrogged his teammate Ish Sodhi to become the top-ranked T20I bowler. Santner has picked up four wickets and now leads Afghanistan’s number-two ranked spinner Rashid Khan by one point.

Mitchell Santner took figures of 2/15, 0/30 and 2/24 in the three-match T20I series against Pakistan

Sodhi is currently at the third spot managing to claim only two wickets and lags behind Santner by si points. Santner is the fourth New Zealand bowler after Daniel Vettori, Shane Bond and Sodhi to claim the coveted number-one position.

Pakistan’s Shadab Khan, who bagged five wickets, has jumped 28 places to 14th spot, while fast bowler Mohammad Amir sits in 27th position jumping moving 19 places up.

However, there is no change in the all-rounders’ list, which is still headed by Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh, with Glenn Maxwell of Australia in the second spot.

ICC T20I Batsmen List:

1 Babar Azam Pakistan 786
2 Aaron Finch Australia 784
3 Virat Kohli India 776
4 Colin Munro New Zealand 773
5 Evin Lewis West Indies 734
6 Lokesh Rahul India 726
7 Glenn Maxwell Australia 700
8 Alex Hales England 690
9 Joe Root England 683
10 Hashim Amla South Africa 683

ICC T20 Bowlers List:

1 Mitchell Santner New Zealand 718
2 Rashid Khan Afghanistan 717
3 Ish Sodhi New Zealand 712
4 Jasprit Bumrah India 702
5 Samuel Badree West Indies 691
6 Imran Tahir South Africa 691
7 Imad Wasim Pakistan 677
8 Mustafizur Rahman Bangladesh 667
9 James Faulkner Australia 661
10 Shakib Al Hasan Bangladesh 661

Here is the newsfeed:

You can learn a lot from MS Dhoni: Ankit Sharma

IPL 2018: Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad Ratings

Virender Sehwag has Gone Mad Says Virat Kohli


Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making...