MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: December 24th, 2019 at 09:47 am

Cricket Australia (CA), on Tuesday, released their ODI Team of the Decade and named MS Dhoni as the captain of the star-studded side. The former India skipper stepped down as the ODI and T20I skipper towards the start of 2017. MS Dhoni is one of the most decorated skippers the game has ever witnessed. Till date, he is the only captain to have won all the three ICC trophies – T20 World Cup, 50-over World Cup, Champions Trophy.

The triumphs in the 50-over World Cup and the Champions Trophy came this decade only. In 2015, India also made it to the semifinal of the World Cup. Apart from MS Dhoni, two other Indians – current captain Virat Kohli and his deputy Rohit Sharma are also in the ODI Team of the Decade.

“MS Dhoni with the bat did tail off during the latter part of the decade, but he was a dominant force in a golden period for India’s one-day side. Having assured his greatness by guiding his nation to World Cup glory on home soil in 2011, the right-hander became India’s ultimate finisher with the bat,” CA said while praising Dhoni.

“Dhoni’s average of more than 50 is undoubtedly boosted by the fact 49 of his innings were unbeaten. But on the 28 occasions, he has been not out in a run chase this decade, India has lost only three times. And his work behind the stumps has rarely let him or his bowlers down,” it added.

Read More  PCB And PSL Franchises Ordered To End All Ties With Betting Companies By Pakistan Government
MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Credits: Twitter)

Also Read: Rohit Sharma Posts Emotional Tweet After Successful Run In 2019

The Team:

CA has picked Rohit Sharma and South Africa’s Hashim Amla as the openers of the side. Virat Kohli, who is currently the number one ODI batsman in the world, is at number three followed by former Proteas skipper AB de Villiers. Bangladesh star Shakib Al Hasan has been named as the sole allrounder in the team while England’s Jos Buttler is also in the team.

However, the wicketkeeping duty has been assigned to Dhoni. In the bowling department, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult and Lasith Malinga are the three pacers while Rashid Khan is the sole spinner.

Cricket Australia ODI team of the decade:

Rohit Sharma, Hashim Amla, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, Jos Buttler, MS Dhoni (c), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan.


An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.