Shreyas Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Siddhesh Lad, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018, Mumbai
Shreyas Iyer. Credit: Twitter

Mumbai will be missing the services of India international Shreyas Iyer for the Inter-State T20 West Zone League matches due to an injury which he sustained during the limited overs series against Sri Lanka. The tournament will be played from 7th to 11th January at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot.

The 15 member Mumbai squad will be led by Aditya Tare while Dhawal Kulkarni will be his deputy for the tournament. The squad also includes prolific performers who have impressed both in List A matches and in their IPL careers. It includes Suryakumar Yadav who has been a prolific run scorer for Mumbai and Kolkata Knight Riders, Siddhesh Lad, Shardul Thakur and Jay Bista.

Dr. Unmesh Khanvilkar, MCA’s Joint secretary, revealed that Iyer is undergoing rehab for his injury which he sustained during the India Sri Lanka limited overs series.

“He is recovering from an injury, and once he is done with his rehab, he will be available for selection,” said Khanvilkar. The selectors decided to persist with the services of Khizer Dafedar despite his prolonged poor run in the U23 and Col CK Nayudu Trophy for Mumbai. He just made 168 runs in 7 outings with a solitary half-century and also bagged 4 wickets.

Thisara Perera, India Vs Sri Lanka, Upul Tharanga, Shikhar Dhawan, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer has been among runs after failing in Dharamsala. Photo Credit: BCCI.

Meanwhile, the Cricket Improvement Committee of Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) took a decision yesterday to hold bowling trials all over the city for the next week to identify quality fast bowlers and spinners. Review of the Ranji Trophy debacle and the U-23 loss in the final to Delhi were also reviewed.

Here is the full Mumbai squad for the Inter-State T20 League:

Aditya Tare (c), Dhawal Kulkarni, Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Siddhesh Lad, Jay Bista, Bravish Shetty, Shashank Singh, Shivam Dube, Khizer Dafedar, Shams Mulani, Tushar Deshpande, Parikshit Valsangkar, Eknath Kerkar, Aakash Parkar.

Here’s the Newsfeed:

Ashes 2017-18: Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith Consolidate Australian innings in Sydney

SA vs IND 2018: India Lucky To Start Series In Cape Town, Says Ajay Jadeja

Arya chakraborty

A Cricket Expert who loves revolving his life around the game. An extremely passionate music lover who loves singing and listening to Arijit Singh songs.