Aditya Tare To Lead Mumbai In Zonal League; Shardul Thakur Back, Iyer Absent From Squad

Aditya Tare will lead Mumbai in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Zonal League, starting on January 7. India pacer, Dhawal Kulkarni, has been appointed as deputy to Tare.

Aditya Tare To Lead Mumbai In Zonal League; Shardul Thakur Back, Iyer Absent From Squad

In major news, Shardul Thakur has made a comeback to the Mumbai side after recovering the from a shoulder injury. He injured his shoulder during Mumbai’s last league stage against Tripura and was later ruled out of the quarterfinal contest. This also saw him not being included in the India squad for Sri Lanka ODI series. Punjab pacer Sidharth Kaul replaced him.

However, Thakur got his seat back in place of Kaul and selectors also backed Thakur by saying that he will prove his fitness in domestic cricket. Shardul will be available for Mumbai during the Zonal League and might not play the inter-Zonal League to join the team in South Africa along with limited overs specialists like Axar Patel, Kedar Jadhav, and MS Dhoni.

Shreyas Iyer’s absence from Mumbai squad surely indicates that there is an injury concern for him as he is not the part of Test side which is in South Africa.

Mumbai side also includes the young opener, Jay Bista, experienced Surya Kumar Yadav and few others. Surya Kumar Yadav though is not expected to be retained by his IPL franchise KKR, but performances in this tournament can see KKR using RTM card on him, subject to his form.

Shashank Singh has been rewarded for his performances in local Mumbai leagues. He was a part of Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2017.

Prithvi Shaw. bags a MRF deal Mumbai Ranji Team
Prithvi Shaw.

Mumbai will miss out on the services of young sensation, Prithvi Shaw. The captain of India U19 team is currently in New Zealand for the Junior World Cup. He went unsold in the previous IPL auction.

The upcoming T20 tournament is a chance for all the players to do well and attract the attention of franchises before the mega-auction, to be held on January 27 and 28.

Mumbai will face Baroda, Gujarat, Saurashtra, and Maharashtra in the Zonal League. The Aditya Tare led side will play all its matches in Rajkot.


Aditya Tare (Captain)
Dhawal Kulkarni (Vice Captain)
Suryakumar Yadav
Shardul Thakur
Siddhesh Lad
Jay Bista
Bravish Shetty
Shashank Singh
Shivam Dube
Khizer Dafedar
Shams Mulani
Tushar Deshpande
Parikshit Valsangkar
Eknath Kerkar
Aakash Parkar

News Feeds –

Manoj Tiwary to lead Bengal in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

MS Dhoni to lead Jharkhand In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Video of the day –