Nain Abidi makes a return as Pakistan name squad for Women's Asia Cup

Published - 13 May 2018, 04:53 PM | Updated - 10 Jan 2019, 12:16 AM

The Pakistan Cricket Board have announced a 15-member squad for Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Women’s T20 Asia Cup. Malaysia will host the tournament next month. The games will take place from June 3 to June 10.  Experienced campaigner Nain Abidi will return after being away from cricketing action for the most part of the year.

Jalaluddin, Akhtar Sarfraz, Asmavia Iqbal, PCB, Women's Team, Bismah Mahroof
Pakistan women’s team has been miserable. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Abidi last represented Pakistan during the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2017 which was held in England. The 32-year-old has been prolific in domestic cricket for ZTB Women. The side will be led by Bismah Mahroof, who has also scored runs in bulk when it comes to domestic cricket.

Changes for the Asia Cup

The women in green will also comprise of the likes of Anam Amin and Javeria Rauf apart from a rookie Omama Sohail. It also means Sidra Ameen, Aiman Anwar, Fareeha Mahmood and Ghulam Fathima won’t feature in the Asia Cup this year. Fareeha Mahmood along with Rameen Shamim, Fazila Ikhlaq and Aliya Riaz have been named in the reserve list.

Jalaluddin, Akhtar Sarfraz, Asmavia Iqbal, PCB, Women's Team, Bismah Mahroof
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Abidi marks her return in style

Abidi took a break from cricket after the World Cup last year. She got married and moved to the USA to settle down with her family. She scored a couple of fifties in the domestic competition. The batter scored an unbeaten 85 off 65 balls in the finals against Pakistan Cricket Board Women’s XI.“Staying away from cricket is always difficult. I have played professional cricket for 11 years, so going and staying away from cricket was the most difficult part after marriage,” she said in an interview to The Express Tribune.  Defending champions India will feature in the series along with Bangladesh, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Pakistan.

Pakistan squad:

Bismah Maroof (c), Muneeba Ali, Bibi Nahida, Jaweria Rauf, Nain Abidi, Omama Sohail, Javeria Wadood, Sidra Nawaz, Nida Rashid, Kainat Imtia,z Sana Mir, Nashra Sundhu, Anam Amin, Natalia Parvaiz, Diana Baig.


News Pakistan national cricket team