Arch-rivals England and Australia will go up against each other in the upcoming Ashes series commencing from August 1 at Edgbaston in Birmingham. Former English skipper Nasser Hussain recently revealed his playing XI for the first Ashes Tests as Jofra Archer failed to make the cut.

Hussain picks his playing XI

Archer has been the most debated bowler in the recently concluded ICC World Cup 2019. He has lived upto the expectations finishing as England’s leading wicket-taker and helping his side clinch the maiden title. While he continues to recover from the side strain he sustained during the competition, Nasser Hussain has shockingly left out Jofra Archer from the playing XI. He has preferred all-rounder Chris Woakes, who had an outstanding outing in the World Cup over Archer.

Nasser Hussain Reveals His Playing XI For First Ashes Test, Jofra Archer Misses The Cut
Nasser Hussain.

Also read: I Am As Friendly With Kuldeep Yadav As I Am With MS Dhoni – Virat Kohli

Meanwhile, Nasser Hussain has picked Jason Roy as his no four batsman. Roy, who open the innings in the limited-overs games is likely to retain his spot in the Test side as well while Joe Denly, who found the opening slot in Hussain’s playing XI will drop down to three with skipper Joe Root coming down to four in his usual position. According to the Daily Mail, Hussain feels there should be specialist openers in Test cricket, and that’s why Jason Roy will bat in the middle-order.

“I would go with a different top three,” Hussain said. “I would bat Joe Root at three and look to have Roy coming in at four or five,” he added.

Nasser Hussain Reveals His Playing XI For First Ashes Test, Jofra Archer Misses The Cut
Jason Roy. (R)

Also read: It Was Difficult To Digest The Semifinal Defeat, Says Virat Kohli

Furthermore, Nasser Hussain picked Moeen Ali as the only spinner while Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, and Jonny Bairstow will complete a long England batting-order. The veteran duo of James Anderson and Stuart Broad will lead the pace attack at Edgbaston which starts from August 1.

Nasser Hussain’s England XI for first Ashes Test:

Rory Burns, Joe Denly, Joe Root (C), Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favorite sport.