After impressing in the limited overs series in India, New Zealand cricket team is all set to begin their home season with the upcoming Test Series against the Windies. The two-match Test series starts on 1st December at Wellington. The New Zealand Cricket board on Wednesday announced a 12 men squad for the first Test which will be led by Kane Williamson with one more player to be added later.

(Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

However, the availability of their wicketkeeper batsmen BJ Watling is still doubtful as he is struggling with a hip injury and his fitness will be monitored and evaluated in the coming week. The Kiwis have gone with the pace battery of the experienced Tent Boult and Tim Southee along with Neil Wagner and Matt Henry. Mitchell Santner is the only spinner in the squad. Colin De Grandhomme is the only genuine all rounder with Tom Latham, Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson the middle order mainstays.

(Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

Selector Gavin Larsen said:

 “Aside from a question mark over BJ, we have a fully fit squad who have all shown they have what it takes to perform at Test level. We want to hit the ground running for that first match at the Basin Reserve. It’s a special place to play cricket and we’re determined to start the summer on a positive note.”

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (C), Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, BJ Watling (WK), Colin de Grandhomme, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Neil Wagner.

(Photo by Rob Jefferies/Getty Images)

The Windies will play a three-day practice game against New Zealand ‘A’ on 25th November, and the selectors announced the ‘A’ squad as well. The squad will be led by their limited overs specialist Martin Guptill. The fast bowling department includes Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne and Scott Kuggeleijn and the batting department comprises ODI specialists Colin Munro and Tom Bruce.

New Zealand ‘A’ squad: Martin Guptill (C), Jeet Raval, Colin Munro, Todd Astle, George Worker, Tom Blundell, Neil Broom, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Adam Milne

The Windies are scheduled to play two Tests, three ODI and three T20 internationals with the final match to be played on January 3.