New Zealand, on Monday, announced their squad for the forthcoming two-match Test series against India. The Black Caps have included uncapped fast-bowler Kyle Jamieson in the team after his impressive show in the three-match ODI series. Jamieson, who was added to the Test squad in Australia last year after Lockie Ferguson’s injury, made his ODI debut against India earlier this month and impressed straightaway.

New Zealand have also welcomed back the experienced Trent Boult, who has been out of action since injuring his right hand in the Boxing Day Test in Australia. Boult’s return will be a big boost for New Zealand who will be desperate to get back to winning ways in Tests after being whitewashed in the three-match series in Australia.

Kyle Jamieson
Kyle Jamieson (Credits – Twitter)

Tim Southee and Neil Wagner are the others pacers in the team while Ajaz Patel is the only frontline spinner. New Zealand have dropped left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner after his poor outing against Australia. In the ongoing 2019-20 season, Santner has picked up just five wickets in four Tests at an average of 83.00.

Patel, nonetheless, last played a Test for New Zealand during the tour of Sri Lanka in August last year. Since then, the Black Caps largely relied on Santner and Todd Astle who recently retired from Tests. Will Somerville was also recently recalled for the Sydney Test when New Zealand had an illness crisis within the squad.

The hosts have also recalled Daryl Mitchell on the back of his impressive bowling performance during the Indians’ warm-up match in Hamilton. Mitchell took the wickets of Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill and Rishabh Pant in the drawn match.

Meanwhile,  opener Jeet Raval and fast bowler Matt Henry have also lost their places in the team after their poor outing in Australia. The Test series starts at the Basin Reseve in Wellington on February 21, before the teams head to Christchurch for the second game from February 29.

New Zealand squad:

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell.