India, New Zealand, New Zealand vs India 2020
Image Credit: Twitter

On Wednesday (29th January), India secured their away T20I series against the hosts New Zealand after winning the thrilling third game of the five-match T20I series at Seddon Park in Hamilton.

The hosts restricted the visitors to 179/5 (20 overs) after sending them to bat first. Later, New Zealand also managed to score 179/6 (20 overs).

In Super Over, the hosts scored 17/0, and the visitors replied with 20/0. With this victory, India have taken an unassailable 3-0 lead in this series with two to go.

Brief Scores: India – 179/5 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 65, Virat Kohli 38; Hamish Bennett 3/54)

New Zealand – 179/6 in 20 overs (Kane Williamson 95, Martin Guptill 31; Shardul Thakur 2/21)

The result – India won the one-over eliminator

Stats review of the match:

Teams’ stats

New Zealand

i) It was the seventh Super Over for New Zealand (six in T20Is, one in ODI). They have won only one Super Over, and that was the Christchurch T20I against Australia on 28th February 2010.


i) It was the first Super Over for India in their international cricket history. Though it was the second tied T20I for India, they involved in the bowl-out during their first tied T20I (against Pakistan at Durban on 14th September 2007; India won by 3-0).

ii) It is the first time when India won a T20I series in New Zealand. Before this series, India lost all the previous two T20I series on Kiwis shores.

Players’ stats


i) Rohit Sharma became the first Indian batsman to score 50 runs within the mandatory powerplay of T20I innings. The previous best was 48 runs by Shikhar Dhawan.

India, New Zealand, stats
Rohit Sharma (Image Credit: Twitter)

ii) Playing his 219th international innings as an opening batsman, Rohit (10,017) completed 10,000 runs. He became the second-fastest cricketer to score 10,000 international runs as an opener.

Sachin Tendulkar is the record holder in this list as he completed this feat in 214 international innings as an opener.

On the other hand, Rohit became the fourth Indian to score 10,000-plus runs as an opening batsman. The other three Indian openers in this list are Virender Sehwag (15,758 runs), Sachin Tendulkar (15,335 runs) and Sunil Gavaskar (12,258).

iii) Rohit Sharma scored 65 runs in this particular match. It is the highest individual T20I score for an Indian batsman against New Zealand in New Zealand. The previous record was 61 not out by Suresh Raina at Christchurch on 25th February 2009.

iv) Virat Kohli has scored 1,126 runs as a T20I captain. He surpassed the former captain MS Dhoni (1,112 runs), to become the most run-scorer as an Indian T20I captain.

India, New Zealand, stats
Virat Kohli (Image Credit: ICC Twitter)

In overall, Kohli is currently the third most run-scorer as a T20I captain. The top two in this list are South African Faf du Plessis (1,273 runs) and New Zealander Kane Williamson (1,243 runs).

New Zealand

i) Martin Guptill (2,530 runs) became the third batsman to score 2,500-plus runs in T20I career. Before him, Indian cricketers Virat Kohli (2,783 runs) and Rohit Sharma (2,713 runs) reached this feat.

India, New Zealand, stats
Martin Guptill (Image Credit: Google)

ii) Martin Guptill (1,524 runs) completed 1,500 T20I runs at home. He became the first batsman to score 1,500-plus T20I runs at home.

iii) New Zealand captain Kane Williamson scored 95 runs. It is the highest individual T20I score for a New Zealand captain. Their previous record was 74 runs by Brendon McCullum (against England at Hamilton on 12th February 2013).

India, New Zealand, stats
Kane Williamson (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also, Kane Williamson’s 95-run was the second-highest individual T20I score for a New Zealand batsman against India.

The record is 109 not out by Colin Munro at Rajkot on 4th November 2017.