India won the series by 5-0 (Image Credit: Twitter)

The visitors India completed whitewash in the five-match T20I series against the hosts New Zealand after winning the final game of this series by seven runs at Mount Maunganui.

After winning the toss, the visitors decided to bat first and managed to score 163/3 (20 overs). Then, the Men in Blue restricted the Blackcaps to 156/9 (20 overs)

Brief Scores: India – 163/3 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 60 retired hurt, KL Rahul 45; Scott Kuggeleijn 2/25)

New Zealand – 156/9 in 20 overs (Ross Taylor 53, Tim Seifert 50; Jasprit Bumrah 3/12)

Result – India won by seven runs

Stats review of the match:

Teams’ stats

New Zealand

i) It was the 23rd home T20I defeat for New Zealand which was the joint-most home T20I defeat for a team. Sri Lanka have also lost 23 T20Is at home.



i) The visiting side India completed whitewash in this five-match T20I series after winning it by 5-0. India are the first team to complete whitewash in the bilateral T20I series that has five or more matches.


Players’ stats

New Zealand

i) Ross Taylor played his 100th T20I match. After Pakistan cricketer Shoaib Malik (113 T20Is) and Indian cricketer Rohit Sharma (108 T20Is), Ross Taylor became the third cricketer to play 100 T20Is.

New Zealand, India, stats, New Zealand vs India
Ross Taylor (Image Credit: Twitter)

ii) Opener Colin Munro scored 178 runs in this series. It was the second-most runs for a New Zealand batsman in a bilateral T20I series.

New Zealand, India, stats, New Zealand vs India
Colin Munro (Credits: Twitter)

The record is 223 runs by Colin Munro during West Indies tour of New Zealand in 2017/18.

iii) Wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert has scored 280 T20I runs (eight innings) against India. It is the most T20I runs for a wicketkeeper-batsman against India.

New Zealand, India, stats, New Zealand vs India
Tim Seifert (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former New Zealand wicketkeeper-batsman Brendon McCullum is in the next position in this list with 261 T20I runs (four innings).



i) KL Rahul scored 224 runs in this five-match T20I series. It was the second most runs for a batsman in a bilateral T20I series.

KL Rahul, New Zealand, India, stats, New Zealand vs India
KL Rahul (Image Credit: Twitter)

The record is 233 runs (seven innings) by Damiao Couana (Mozambique) during Mozambique tour of Malawi in November 2019.

ii) Rohit Sharma has scored 14,029 international runs. He became the eighth Indian batsman to score 14,000+ runs in international career.

Rohit Sharma, New Zealand, India, stats, New Zealand vs India
Rohit Sharma (Credits – Twitter)

iii) Rohit Sharma registered his 25th 50+ score in T20I career. It is the most 50+ scores for a batsman in T20I career. Indian cricketer Virat Kohli is in the next position with 24 times 50+ scores in T20I career.

iv) Rohit Sharma scored 60 runs before getting retired-hurt. It was the third-highest individual T20I score for an Indian batsman against New Zealand in New Zealand.

The top two records in this list are 65 by Rohit Sharma (at Hamilton on 29th January 2020) and 61* by Suresh Raina (at Christchurch on 25th February 2009).

Also, Rohit Sharma’s latest 60 runs was the second-highest individual score for an Indian T20I captain against New Zealand. The record is 65 runs by Virat Kohli at Rajkot on 4th November 2017.

v) The right-arm medium pacer Shivam Dube conceded 34 runs in his only over of this match. It was the second-most expensive over in T20I history.

Shivam Dube
Shivam Dube (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

The record is conceding 36 runs in an over by English pacer Stuart Broad against Yuvraj Singh (India) at Durban on 19th September 2007.

vi) Jasprit Bumrah has delivered seven maiden overs in T20I career. It is the most maiden overs for a bowler in T20I career. Sri Lankan pacer Nuwan Kulasekara is in the next position in this list with six maiden overs in T20I career.

Jasprit Bumrah, New Zealand, India, stats, New Zealand vs India
Jasprit Bumrah (Credits- Twitter)