Sri Lanka, New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2018
Dinesh Chandimal (Credits - Twitter)

After the poor home series against England, Sri Lanka is all set to travel to New Zealand to lock horns for two Tests. Surprisingly, they have announced 17-member squad for the tour to give healthy chances for the management to pick their best XI possible. Meanwhile, recently-injured Dinesh Chandimal is back on track, who will be leading the side while Dimuth Karunaratne will be his deputy. Sri Lanka brought back Lahiru Thirimanne and Sadeera Samarwickrama back on the board as well.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Chandimal returns to lead Sri Lanka in Tests

Also, the fast bowlers, Lahiru Kumara and Nuwan Pradeep are also back in the mix. Nuwan Pradeep’s comeback would be the much-required boost for the team, who has always been their top performer across the formats.

MUST READ – Most Dot Balls Innings in IPL 2008

Dinesh Chandimal, New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2018
Sri Lankan skipper Dinesh Chandimal. Getty Images

Kusal Mendis retains his spot:

Sri Lanka have gone mostly with the same side that got knocked down by the Englishmen. Meanwhile, Malinda Pushpakumara and Akila Dananjaya are the names missing on the paper. Dushmantha Chameera replaced Pushpakumara, as the New Zealand wickets will support fast bowlers more.

Further, they have retained the likes of Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dananjaya De Silva in the side. Roshen Silva, who has been brilliant against England also got the nod. Niroshan Dickwella also holds on to his position.

Lahiru Kumara, New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2018
Lahiru Kumara makes a comeback (Credits – Getty)

”The Minister of Provincial Councils, Local Government and Sports Honorable Faiszer Musthapa ratified the squad. Sri Lanka will leave for New Zealand on the 04th December 2018. They will play two test matches before commencing the limited overs version of the tour,” Sri Lanka statement read.

ALSO READ – Best Average in IPL 2008

In total, Sri Lanka will play two Test games against New Zealand, which will be followed by a three-match ODI series and a solitary T20I. The first Test is scheduled to start on December 15th.

Also, here is the squad –

Dinesh Chandimal (c), Dimuth Karunaratne (vc), Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Angelo Mathews, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella. Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera

Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!