Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik [Photo-AFP]

Four senior Pakistan cricketers namely, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz, and Mohammad Amir will now receive match fees of the ‘A’ category. At the same time, earlier they were given the ‘C’ category fees.

The above mentioned four cricketers don’t have central contracts as they play only white-ball cricket and were given the match fees for the ‘C’ category players for every game they played. The board has signed a new contract with them in which they will be paid the match fees of category ‘A’ players.

It is learned that these players asked the board to alter their contracts as they are not being paid the highest fees reserved for senior cricketers. The money which they will earn as per the ‘A’ section for ODIs and T20Is is about double what they did in the ‘C’ section.

Wahab Riaz, Pakistan, 2019 World Cup
Wahab Riaz(Photo credit: MONEY SHARMA/AFP/Getty Images)

A source was quoted by Hindustan Times as saying, “The four had voiced their reservations to the board’s CEO, Wasim Khan that they are being treated unfairly that despite not being given central contracts they are not being paid match fees in the highest category reserved for seniors.”

“Previously after the central contracts were announced and they were not named in the list, they were paid fees for playing for the national team in the ‘C’ category which roughly came to around 202,000 rupees for an ODI and lesser for a T20 international.”

The source said that the four players will now earn approximately 460,000 for each ODI and 330,000 for T20 international.

Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir dropped from Pakistan’s T20 team.

Mohammad Amir
Mohammad Amir (Credits: Getty)

Last week the board announced a 35-member contingent to travel to New Zealand. To the surprise of many Mohammad Amir and Shoaib Malik were dropped from the T20 squad. Head coach, Misbah-ul-Haq said that the management is taking this opportunity to groom youngsters. Both the players played in the T20I series in England a couple of months back.

Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Hafeez kept their place after a strong show in limited-overs cricket post the resumption of the sport in the pandemic era.


Pakistan will tour to New Zealand for 3 T20Is starting 27th November followed by a 2-match Test series. Later in the year, the men in green will travel to England before hosting the same team for a 2 T20Is ahead of the T20 World Cup in India.

Also Read: PCB Has Assured I Won’t Be Removed As The Captain Even If We Lose Against New Zealand: Babar Azam