Pakistan vs Australia 2018 | Pakistan Squad | Mohammad Amir | Test Series |

Pakistan vs Australia 2018: Pakistan Announces 17-Man Squad for Test Series, Amir Ousted

Pakistan vs Australia, Pakistan Test squad
Mohammad Amir. Credits: Getty Images.

Pakistan has finally announced their 17-man squad for the two-match Test series against Australia which is slated to be played at the United Arab Emirates. The two-match Test series is slated to begin on 7 October at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. In a shocking move, Pakistan has decided to omit Mohammad Aamir from their squad which has seriously raised a few eyebrows.

He has performed quite well during the Test series in England. However, Amir wasn’t at his best during the Asia Cup. However, given the experience of such a bowler, it is a big omission.

Mohammad Amir has been shown the exit door from Test squad. Credits: AP

Amir is left out of the Test squad.

The left-arm speedster who resembled Wasim Akram during his early days has bagged a total of 12 wickets in Test cricket in 2018 at an exceptional average of 18.42 and a brilliant strike rate of 47.25. He was also among the pick of the Pakistan bowlers during the Test series against England which ended 1-1.

Sarfaraz Ahmed will lead the 17-man squad for the Test series against Australia. The squad consists of a blend of youth and experience. Pakistan is a very strong Test side when it comes to playing in the UAE. They have a very good record in their adopted ground. Meanwhile, Australia will be not at the top of their prowess in the absence of David Warner and Steve Smith.

Pakistan England
Pakistan had won the Lord’s Test by 9 wickets (Credits: Getty)

Pakistan also has a pretty strong bowling attack which will be led by Mohammad Nawaz. The spin bowling department will be mastered by Yasir Shah. He hasn’t been at his best in the recent past but has proved why he is one of the best leg spinners in the world.

On the other hand, Australia will be a worried unit in the absence of two big stars. After a below-par performance in the Asia Cup, Pakistan will look to secure a series victory in home conditions.

Here is the full squad:

Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam Ul Haq, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Usman Salahuddin, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Bilal Asif, Muhammad Abbas, Hassan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Rizwan (wk)

Arya chakraborty

A Cricket Expert who loves revolving his life around the game. An extremely passionate music lover who loves singing and listening to Arijit Singh songs.