Revealed: Salary Of India's Centrally-Contracted Players For 2016-17 Season

There is absolutely no denying the fact that the Indian cricketers are the most well-paid sportsperson not only in the country but also in the game of cricket. Their lavish lifestyles have always made the fans curious to know more about their salaries and so here are lifting the lid on how much your favourite cricketers earn from the game.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Earlier this year, the Board of Control for Cricket in India, last year, doubled the retainer fee for the contracted players for the 2016-17 season. The Indian cricket board gave contracts to 32 players who were divided in three categories namely Grade A, Grade B and Grade C.

The BCCI increased the retainer fee to INR 2 crore as compared to the earlier INR 1 crore for the Grade A players while the fee for the Grade B and C players was set at INR 1 crore and INR 50 lakh respectively.

In addition to increasing the retainer fee, the board also hiked the match fee for Test matches  to INR 15 lakh compared to INR 7.50 lakh that was being paid earlier, while the fees for ODI and T20 Internationals was increased to INR 6 lakh and 3 lakh respectively. Apart from these contracted players, all other players who appear for India during this contract period automatically receive same match fees as that of player in Grade C. The players also receive bonuses depending on their individual as well as the team’s performance.

Coming to the the division of players as per the grade, 7 out of 32 players have been included in Grade A while 9 and the remaining 16 made it to the Grade B and C respectively.

So here is the amount earned by the centrally contracted players:

Grade A:

Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, R Ashwin, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay

Retainer Fee- Rs 2 Crore, Test Fee- Rs 15 lakh, ODI Fee- Rs 6 lakh, T20I Fee- Rs 3 lakh

Image result for virat kohli, ms dhoni

Grade B:

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuvraj Singh.

Retainer Fee- Rs 1 crore, Test Fee- Rs 15 lakh, ODI Fee- Rs 6 lakh, T20I Fee- Rs 3 lakh

Image result for rohit sharma yuvraj singh

Grade C:

Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Amit Mishra, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, Ashish Nehra, Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Parthiv Patel, Jayant Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shardul Thakur, Rishabh Pant

Retainer Fee- Rs 1 crore, Test Fee- Rs 15 lakh, ODI Fee- Rs 6 lakh, T20I Fee- Rs 3 lakh

Image result for Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu,

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.