Following the seven-run win at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday (February 24), the stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma has achieved a milestone as the team leader.

Before talking about the feat of Rohit, who had a torrid tour as a batsman in the Rainbow Nation but went on to deliver owing to his capable leadership traits.

How it unfolded in Cape Town series-decider:

After regular skipper Virat Kohli failed to make it to the playing XI due to a stiff back, his deputy Rohit stepped in to march into the record book.

Interestingly, the batting mainstay Kohli was replaced by Dinesh Karthik.

Rohit Sharma, Team India, Cape Town, Skipper, South Africa
Rohit Sharma struggled with the bat. Photo Credit: BCCI.

Earlier, South African skipper Jean-Paul Duminy won the toss and opted to field first. India set the target of 172 while riding on the contribution from Suresh Raina (43) and Shikhar Dhawan (43).

However, the Indian bowlers shone in the early stage while containing the Proteas batting line-up.

Interestingly, playing his maiden Twenty20 International Christiaan Jonker added some life in the game at the fag end of an innings.

The right-handed supremely talented batter Jonker scored 24-ball 49, before India clinched the three-match T20I series-decider by seven runs.

The Proteas were restricted at 165 for six even. Farhaan Behardien remained not on six-ball 15 to make the contest more interesting.

Imperious record of Rohit Sharma as a captain:

Rohit Sharma, Team India, Cape Town, Skipper, South Africa
Rohit Sharma poses with a T20I trophy alongside Virat Kohli. Photo Credit: Twitter.

The premium opening batsman in the limited-overs cricket Rohit Sharma has continued winning ways as a leader in T20I. He now becomes the sixth skipper to win four consecutive matches in the international fold.

Rohit has been delivering according to the plans. He is proving himself as a strong contender for the foreseeable future.

Rohit Sharma, Team India, Cape Town, Skipper, South Africa
Rohit Sharma smashed a ton in Centurion ODI. Photo Credit: BCCI.

With India all set to travel Sri Lanka for the Tri-nation series including Bangladesh, Rohit has been announced the skipper 15-man squad for Nidahas Trophy which is beginning from March 6.

Owing to the win in his first four T20Is wins, Rohit is looking forward to continue his domination while marshalling his troops.

Despite a bleak performance with the bat, Rohit joined the list of veteran Kumar Sangakkara, Shahid Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed, Misbah-Ul-Haq and Lasith Malinga.

Mumbai Indians experience came good:

Rohit Sharma, Team India, Cape Town, Skipper, South Africa
Rohit Sharma has learned a lot as a leader. Photo Credit: IPL.

In the Indian Premier League (IPL), Rohit has been leading the reigning champions Mumbai Indians. He has gained a lot of experience to carry forward it in the top-flight cricket.

Interestingly, Rohit led Men in Blue in the three-match T20I series at home against Sri Lanka in December which saw the hosts clinched the series 3-0.

Here’s the newsfeed:

SA vs IND 2018: India best team to have toured South Africa – Daryll Cullinan

SA vs IND, 2018, 3rd T20I Cape Town: Players Rating of the Indian Team