The fans in India could once again see the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara weaving their magic on the cricket field. Both the former batsmen are among former cricketers who will return to the field for the Road Safety World Series in India next year. The World Series will be an annual Twenty20 tournament played between retired cricketers from five countries – Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and India.

There are a host of big names who will feature in the tournament alongside Sachin Tendulkar and Lara. Some of the players are India’s Virender Sehwag, Australian Brett Lee, Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan and South Africa’s Jonty Rhodes. The much-awaited tournament will take place from February 2 to February 16 next year across India.

The last time so many retired cricketers joined hands for a T20 series was in Cricket All-Stars which was an exhibition T20 series. The series was held in the United States in 2015. It featured two lineups of renowned retired cricket players from around the world, led by cricket icons – Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar of India and the King of Spin Shane Warne of Australia.

Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara To Play T20 Tournament In India
Sachin Tendulkar. (Credits: BCCI)

Sachin Tendulkar retired from the game as the leading run-scorer in Tests and ODIs. He also holds the record for most number of centuries in Tests and ODIs. In 2008, Tendulkar surpassed Lara’s record for most test runs. Lara retired from the game in 2007 after scoring 11,953 runs in Tests. Lara holds the record for the highest individual test score, his 400 not out against England in Antigua in 2004.

Also Read: Kevin Pietersen Reacts To Sourav Ganguly Becoming BCCI President

Also Read: Injured Smriti Mandhana Loses Top Spot To Amy Satterthwaite In The Latest ODI Rankings

Also Read: Harbhajan Singh To Make His Acting Debut In A Tamil Movie

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.