Smriti Mandhana Named In Both ICC Women's ODI And T20I Teams Of The Year
Smriti Mandhana (Credits: Getty Images)

Last Update on: December 17th, 2019 at 02:24 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Smriti Shriniwas Mandhana has been one of the important players for the women’s national team. Not many know that India’s cricket body BCCI named her as the best women’s international cricketer in June 2018. The opening batswoman continued to impress the fans and the selectors with a string of consistent performances.

In December 2018, the international cricket body ICC felicitated Smriti with the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for the best female cricketer of the year. Smriti was also named the ODI Player of the Year by the ICC at the same time. The 23-year-old Smriti Mandhana played 51 ODIs and 66 T20Is and a couple of Tests for the country. She has essayed an aggregate score of 3476 runs in T20Is and ODIs.

Smriti Mandhana.
Smriti Mandhana. Credit: Getty Images

Smriti Mandhana in both ICC Women’s ODI and T20I teams of the year

In the latest development, Smriti Mandhana hogged the limelight once again as she was featured in both the International Cricket Council’s ODI and T20 teams of the year. Apart from Smriti, Jhulan Goswami, Poonam Yadav and Shikha Pandey are named in the ODI team of the year. India all-rounder Deepti Sharma was named in the T20 side.

Read More: Smriti Mandhana Reveals Her Crush, Also Answers If She’s Single

On the other hand, Australia’s Alyssa Healy was picked as the T20 cricketer of the year after her record-breaking 148 against Sri Lanka earlier this year. It should be noted that the ODI cricketer of the year honour went to Australia’s Ellyse Perry, who scored as many as 441 runs at an average of 73.50 and took 21 wickets at a pretty good average of 13.52. Australia’s Meg Lanning was preferred as skipper of both the ODI and T20 side.

Read More  India Squad for ICC World Cup 2023, Schedule 2023, Match List, Team List
ICC Women's T20I World Cup 2020
Ellyse Perry. Credit: Getty Images

This time around, Ellyse Perry pocketed the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint award for being the best female cricketer of the year across formats. Thailand’s Chanida Sutthiruang received emerging cricketer of the year award. The 26-year-old seamer showcased her mettle at this year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup qualifier as she accounted for 12 dismissals.

Also Read: Smriti Mandhana Becomes the Second Women Cricket to Score Centuries in SENA Countries

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (The list is presented in batting order)

1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia
2. Smriti Mandhana – India
3. Tamsin Beaumont – England
4. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia
5. Stafanie Taylor – West Indies
6. Ellyse Perry – Australia
7. Jess Jonassen – Australia
8. Shikha Pandey – India
9. Jhulan Goswami – India
10. Megan Schutt – Australia
11. Poonam Yadav – India

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (The list is presented in batting order)

1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia
2. Danielle Wyatt – England
3. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia
4. Smriti Mandhana – India
5. Lizelle Lee – South Africa
6. Ellyse Perry – Australia
7. Deepti Sharma – India
8. Nida Dar – Pakistan
9. Megan Schutt – Australia
10. Shabnim Ismail – South Africa
11. Radha Yadav – India

Read More  Mayank Agarwal Finally Lifts The Lid On Mysterious Team Photo, Reveals Who Put His Arm Around Rishabh Pant In Viral Photo