Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly (CreditS: Twitter)

Chopping and changing have been a constant feature of the current Indian team. While the team-management has rarely given some players a longer run in the playing eleven, the selectors have also made sure to keep rotating the players. Perhaps this is one of the reasons why India’s middle-order issue is not sorted yet.

What’s even more surprising is that India now have only a handful of players who play across the formats. For the upcoming tour of West Indies, India announced their Test, ODI and T20I squads on Sunday and only five players featured in all the three formats – Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and Ravindra Jadeja.

Also Read: Absence Of Shubman Gill,Ajinkya Rahane In ODI Squad Surprises Sourav Ganguly

India (Credits: Twitter)

The squad selection is really baffling and it took former India skipper Sourav Ganguly by surprise too. The legendary skipper took to Twitter to criticise the team selection and said that it is important to pick players who can play across formats.

“Time has come for indian selectors to pick same players in all formats of the game for rhythm and confidence.. too few are playing in all formats ..great teams had consistent players’s not about making all happy but picking the best for the country and be consistent.. @bcci,” wrote the former India skipper.

India, meanwhile, will have a full-fledged tour of West Indies. The Virat Kohli-led side kick-off their tour with three-match T20I series, with the first two being played in Florida on August 3 and 4, before shifting base to Guyana for the last game on August 6. The three ODIs will then follow from August 8, before the two-Test series begins from August 22.

Here are the squads: 


Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk) Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.


Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini


Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini