Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly (Credits: Getty)

Former India skipper Sourav Ganguly is looking set to become the new president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The legendary cricketer, who will be the nominee from Cricket Association of Bengal for the upcoming BCCI AGM, will contest for the high-profile post. Media reports suggest that Sourav Ganguly will be elected unopposed as the next BCCI president.

On the other hand, former India batsman Brijesh Patel is also set to become the new Indian Premier League (IPL) Chairman. Others contesting in the elections for the post of office bearers include Gujarat Cricket Association’s Jay Shah, who is also the son of Home Minister Amit Shah, and Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association’s Arun Dhumal, who is the brother of former BCCI president Anurag Thakur.

While Shah will be contesting for the post of BCCI secretary, Dhumal has thrown his hat in the ring for the post of BCCI treasurer. Kerala Cricket Association’s Jayesh George is also contesting in the elections and is looking set to be the new Joint Secretary.

Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly (Credits – Getty)

According to ESPNCricinfo, the idea to have Ganguly and Shah in the two most important positions in the BCCI was taken at an unofficial meeting in Mumbai on Sunday. The meeting was  attended by some of the key men in Indian cricket including former BCCI presidents N Srinivasan and Thakur. Some other high profile attendees were former board secretary Niranjan Shah, and former IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla.

Also Read: Gautam Gambhir Takes U-turn, Calls Virat Kohli Better Captain Than Sourav Ganguly, MS Dhoni

Talking about Sourav Ganguly, he is not new to administration. After finishing his illustrious cricket career, he entered administration at the CAB under the tutelage of former BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya. He is currently serving as the president of CAB, a position which he has been elected to twice in a row.

Ganguly will serve as the BCCI president for around 10 months before going into the mandatory cooling off period of three years. An office bearer or an administrator has to serve the cooling off period, which is part of the new BCCI constitution formed on the basis of the RM Lodha Committee recommendations, after having served six consecutive years in any position at the national or state levels.

Also Read: ICC Likely To Lift Zimbabwe Cricket’s Suspension