Sri Lanka Likely To Stage T10 League In February 2021

Published - 06 Dec 2020, 02:33 PM

Sri Lanka Cricket, Coronavirus, Sri Lanka, LKR 25 Million, England tour of Sri Lanka 2020
(Source: Twitter)

With the ongoing success of Lanka Premier League 2020, Sri Lanka could also most likely stage the T10 league in February. The dates have been booked for the 1st to the 12th of February with the Sri Lankan cricket already calling for tenders over event rights. The T10 League’s inaugural edition took place back in 2017 and having invented the concept by the United Arab Emirates have been the hosts every year.

The Abu Dhabi T10 League season of 2019 comprised of four teams namely – Team Abu Dhabi, Maratha Arabians, Bangla Tigers, and Deccan Gladiators. The Emirates Cricket Board approved of the tournament with the matches consisting of ten overs and the duration being 90 minutes. The details of the upcoming leg hosted by Sri Lanka are yet to be finalized; however, the board remains confident of conducting in February.

T10 league. Getty Images

R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Dambulla, and Pallekele international stadiums will likely stage the matches. The competition’s system are expected to be of round-robin format and 29 games to be played before the finals and semi-finals. Five or six teams could feature in the tournament while each side is anticipated to have 16 players, including maximum six overseas players.

The T10 tournament is on the card: Sri Lanka cricket Vice-President

Ravin Wickramaratne. (Credits: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Cricket vice-president Raveen Wickremaratne underlined that they have found a window to stage the T10 League after the Test series against England. Sri Lanka and England will lock horns in two Tests at the Galle International Stadium next year.

Yes, the T10 tournament is on the cards. It’s a new concept and we have found a window in February soon after the England series to play it,” Wickramaratne said as quoted by Sunday

Also Read: Hardik Pandya Should Be Promoted To No.5 In T20Is, Feels Aakash Chopra


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) T10 League