Steve Bucknor Recounts The Two Instances Where He Wrongly Gave Sachin Tendulkar Out
/

Steve Bucknor Recounts The Two Instances Where He Wrongly Gave Sachin Tendulkar Out

Steve Bucknor [Photo-AP]

Steve Bucknor, former West Indies umpire, has picked the two instances where he gave wrong decisions against Sachin Tendulkar.

According to the former controversial umpire, the first instance was during the 2003 Test between Australia and India at the Gabba in Brisbane where Bucknor adjudged Tendulkar leg-before-wicket to a Jason Gillespie delivery when it was clearly visible that the ball would have comfortably missed the leg-stump.

Steve Bucknor Recounts The Two Instances Where He Wrongly Gave Sachin Tendulkar Out
Sachin Tendulkar after getting adjudged LBW [Photo-Screengrab]
Bucknor, who was also known as ‘slow death’, took his usual time before- to the absolute amazement of everyone including Sachin Tendulkar- raising his finger.

“Once in Australia I gave him leg-before and the ball was going over the top, and another time in India, it was caught behind. The ball deviated after passing the bat but there was no touch,” Steve Bucknor told Mason & Guest program.

The second instance that Steve Bucknor recounted was the 2005 Eden Gardens Test between India and Pakistan where Sachin chased a swinging delivery and was adjudged caught-behind. The replays clearly showed that there were daylights between bat and ball.

“But the match was at Eden Gardens and when you are at the Eden and India is batting, you hear nothing. Because 100,000 spectators are making noise,” he added.

Also Read: Mitchell Starc Supplies Video Evidence To Prove Injury For $1.53 Million IPL Insurance Payout

‘Tendulkar was given out on two different occasions when those were mistakes’- Steve Bucknor

Steve Bucknor Recounts The Two Instances Where He Wrongly Gave Sachin Tendulkar Out
Steve Bucknor-Sachin Tendulkar (Courtesy: Twitter)

Bucknor reckoned that those were human errors as no umpire wants to something that could jeopardize his future.

“To err is human. Tendulkar was given out on two different occasions when those were mistakes. I do not think any umpire would want to do a wrong thing, it lives with him and his future could be jeopardized,” Steve Bucknor clarified.

He added: “Those were the mistakes and I was unhappy. I am saying a human is going to make mistakes and accepting mistakes are part of life.”

Bucknor’s controversial umpiring career came to an end following the 2008 Sydney Test between India and Australia where the West Indian and his fellow partner gave a plethora of wrong decisions.

Also Read: “You Think You Can Hit Me Like That?” Narayan Jagadeesan Recalls Being Sledged By Shane Watson

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.