Supreme Court Rejects Participation of Outstation Players in TNPL

Published - 11 Jul 2018, 05:12 PM | Updated - 11 Jul 2018, 05:14 PM

Photo Credit: TNPL.

The Supreme Court of India has banned the participation of the outstation players in the upcoming Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2018 starting from July 11.

Moreover, the court also confirmed the impending tournament will go on as per the previous schedule.

However, the TNCA management wanted the outstation players to take part in the tournament.

Last week, TNCA disobeyed Committee of Administrators (CoA) rule and conducted a draft where eight teams picked two outstation players each.

Promising star Unmukt Chand, Sheldon Jackson, Kedar Devdhar were few of the top players to get distinct teams for this edition.

Previously, the apex body-appointed CoA warned that if they allow outstation players it will deem to be an unapproved tournament.

Meanwhile, TNCA went to Supreme Court to challenge the decision and in the end, COA had the last laugh.

Last year as well, the TNCA wanted outstation players in TNPL but the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) did not give permission to do so.

Photo Credit: Twitter.

The third edition will commence on July 11 with Dindigul Dragons taking on Ruby Trichy Warriors in the opening fixture.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, captain of Dindigul Dragons, will be the star attraction in the opening game along with Murali Vijay. The top-order batter will be representing Ruby Trichy Warriors.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik, young all-rounder Washington Sundar are also part of different teams in the tournament. But the former is likely going to miss the whole tournament due to international commitments.

However, Sundar, on the other hand, is suffering from an injury and hasn’t recovered yet.

Also read: Punjab Government not to charge Harmanpreet Kaur over fake degree


Tamil Nadu Cricket Association Tamil Nadu Premier League