The right-handed classy batsman, Shreyas Iyer set to lead Mumbai team in the super league stages of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019. The flamboyant batsman will take the reigns from Ajinkya Rahane, who will be unavailable for Mumbai in the super league stage.

It is learnt that Ajinkya Rahane’s performance has made the selectors took the decision. He wasn’ impressive in the so far concluded games in the tournament. However, there are reports that he is suffering niggles. In between, a source close to Cricket Country said that Rahane is unavailable but not sustained any injuries.

Surya Kumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad retained:

Senior batsman Ajinkya Rahane had led Mumbai in the league stage of the domestic T20 tournament, but “he is not available for the knock-out stage”, a source in the Mumbai Cricket Association [MCA] said, ruling out reports that the Test specialist was carrying a niggle.

Ajinkya Rahane, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019
Ajinkya Rahane. (Photo credit – PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP/Getty Images)

They named a brilliant squad that got the match-winners in each slot. The young sensation Prithvi Shaw retained his place alongside the likes of Siddhesh Lad, Surya Kumar Yadav in the batting chart. In between, Jay Bista finds a place while Aditya Tare will continue in his role.

The bowling attack will be spearheaded by pacer Dhawal Kulkarni. It also comprises the likes of Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Royston Dias and Akash Parkar. Meanwhile, the spinners section will be looked after by Dhurmil Matkar and Shams Mulani.

Prithvi Shaw, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Shreyas Iyer
Prithvi Shaw finds a place. Image Courtesy: Getty

Well, it is an interesting call to leave Ajinkya Rahane. In between, Shreyas Iyer is a perfect choice in absence of the regular skipper. Iyer has got enough experience under his belt, who led his side for quite a few times. It would also be good practice for him ahead of going into Indian Premier League 2019, where he will lead Delhi Capitals.

On Coming Friday, Mumbai will take on Karnataka in their first game at the Holkar stadium. Co-incidentally Mumbai played all its league matches in Indore.

Also, here is the squad:

Shreyas Iyer (captain), Dhawal Kulkarni, Shardul Thakur, Siddhesh Lad, Jay Bista, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Tushar Deshpande, Aditya Tare, Eknath Kerkar, Shubham Ranjane, Akash Parkar, Shams Mulani, Dhrumil Matkar and Royston Dias.