Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Karnataka Create Indian Record With 15th T20 Victory On Trot

Updated - 08 Nov 2019, 10:39 PM

Devdutt Padikkal
Karnataka player Devdutt Padikkal (Credits: Twitter)

It takes nerves of steel to maintain the winning spree in the game of cricket and Karnataka can pat themselves on the back for their outstanding record in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy tournament. With collective rhythm, they went on a pulverization of their won and dominated each opposition that came across their way. In 2018-19 period, Karnataka have managed to register 15 T20 wins on the trot, which is the best ever Indian record.

Karnataka accomplished their feat when they got the better of Uttarakhand by nine wickets in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Group A match. Opener Rohan Kadam and Devdutt Padikkal set up a perfect platform as they both scored unbeaten half-centuries to help Karnataka register a sensational victory while tracking the 133-run target.

Karnataka (Credits: Twitter)

Kadam’s unbeaten 67 off 55 balls with the help of 6 fours and 3 sixes while Padikkal took 33 balls to score 53*. The duo constructed a 108-run partnership for the second wicket to take Karnataka home in 15.4 overs after the other opener Ravikumar Samarth was dismissed for a mere 7 off Pradeep Chamoli’s bowling.

Opting to bat first, Uttarakhand could only muster 132 for the loss of 6 wickets in their allotted quota of 20 overs. They hardly showed teeth in their performance except for captain Tanmay Srivastava who was the pick of the batsmen for his decent 39.

Karnataka comes second when it comes to registering most T20 winning streaks: 15*

Karnataka team players
Karnataka team players (Credits: Web)

The victory saw Karnataka not only script an Indian record for most T20 wins on the trot (15 victories) but also moved to second place in the overall world list, joint with Otago of New Zealand. Previously, Indian Premier League franchise Kolkata Knight Riders, during the 2014 season, held the best Indian record for winning 14 matches in a row.

It is worth mentioning here that Sialkot Stallions top the list as they won 25 games on the trot in Pakistan’s National T20 Cup between 2006 and 2010.


Karnataka Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Uttarakhand