New Zealand, on Tuesday, announced their squad for the forthcoming three-match series against Sri Lanka. The Black Caps have rested their regular captain Kane Williamson and Trent Boult for the series. In Williamson’s absence, senior fast-bowler Tim Southee will lead the side in the series. New Zealand is currently playing the two-Test series against the Islanders and have lost the first Test.

Read More: Kuldeep Yadav Or Ravichandran Ashwin For West Indies Tests? Harbhajan Singh Reveals His Pick

Both Williamson and Boult have had a busy last few months. After a hectic home schedule, they played in the Indian Premier League before heading to England for the World Cup. In England, the duo helped New Zealand make it to the final.

“Kane and Trent played an enormous role in our recent World Cup campaign and with a big summer ahead, we see it as a good opportunity to give them a rest,” selector Gavin Larsen said.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson (Credits: Twitter)

Wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert and Tom Bruce have returned to the side. Seifert had suffered a finger injury during the Plunket Shield and later missed the World Cup. On the other hand, Bruce was not a part of New Zealand’s squad for their last T20I series against India. He, however, remained in limelight because of his exploits in the Super Smash T20 competition where he scored 353 runs in 11 innings at an average of nearly 40 and strike rate of 157.58.

Read More: Two Children Electrocuted While Playing Cricket

Pace-bowling allrounder Doug Bracewell has been replaced by Seth Rance in the side. Bracewell was a part of New Zealand’s squad for the series against India but did not get any game. Pacer Scott Kuggeleijn and allrounder Daryl Mitchell have retained their places in the squad.

The three-match series will start on September 1. All the matches will be played in Pallekele.

New Zealand squad:

Tim Southee (capt), Todd Astle, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhome, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor