Karaikudi Kalaai, TNPL, Ruby Trichy Warriors.
In the ongoing edition of TNPL, Karaikudi Kalaai sealed a cliff-hanger against Ruby Trichy Warriors. Photo Credit: TNPL.

There is no second opinion that Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) franchise Karaikudi Kalaai has washed away the stink of their first defeat. After their loss in super over of the first game, Kalaai bagged three consecutive wins. However, the latest one came against the Ruby Trichy Warriors.

Baba Indrajit, Anirudha Srikkanth
Anirudha Srikkanth along with Baba Indrajit.
Image Courtesy: TNPL/Facebook

A brief description of the match:

After winning the toss, Ruby Trichy Warriors decided to bat first. Warriors probably got the worst start of the tournament so far as they lost their openers in the space of three balls.

Indrajit , Srikkanth
Two skippers during the toss.
Image credits TNPL Facebook

The Tirchy Warriors lost their first wicket in the form of Bharath Shankar, who scored mere 11 runs, as he chopped one onto the stumps. The dismissal of Baba Indrajit follows it who was deceived by the mystery of R Kavin.

It was Vasanth Saravanan and Rajkumar R, who managed to find the find the fences with their agriculture shots. However, soon both departed as it ended their powerplay with 44 for the loss of five wickets.

TNPL, Baba Indrajit,
V Aditya was stumped by Mani Bharathi on his individual score of 19 runs. Image Credits: TNPL/Facebook

Suresh Kumar and Mani Bharathy shared 35 runs for the seventh-wicket partnership. The duo once again tried to set the tune for a fighting total. However, two back-to-back wickets subsequently dent Kerela.

It was Sanjay MS, the number 10 batsman who played a cameo at the end. He scored 28 and Kerela was bowled out on 114.

A summary of a dramatic chase:

Chasing 115 runs, Anirudha Srikkanth led his team from the front. He fell just nine-run short of third consecutive fifty. He scored 41 off 28 balls.

In addition, Srikkanth along with Aditya put an opening partnership of 47 on the board.

However, soon a curse of collapse befall on Karaikudi Kalaai. The bowlers of the Trichy Warriors bowled with their hearts out. It was Suresh Kumar, who dented Kalaai with his three-for.

But among the nine players who got bowled out, seven players could not enter into double figures.

However, it was heroic inning of 13 runs from Yo Mahesh that drove victory to the home of Karaikudi Kalaai in the ongoing third edition of TNPL.

Syed Yasir

I'm cricket enthusiast who has the passion to contribute in this beautiful sport by doing writing for it. I'm an ardent supporter of Misbah-ul-Haq, Suresh Raina and Hashim Amla. I'm a strong believer following...