Tom Moody
Tom Moody. (Credits: Twitter)
Loading...

Tom Moody, former Australian all-rounder, has said that he would not criticize the on-field umpire Nitin Menon but the authorities for not making use of the technology while deciding the controversial ‘short-run’ call during the game between Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Capitals.

It all happened on the third ball of the 19th over when Mayank Agarwal steered Kagiso Rabada towards the extra-cover region for a couple. Umpire Nitin Menon, who was standing at the square-leg position adjudged that Chris Jordan had run one run short and docked the single from KXIP’s score. The replays clearly showed that Jordan had in fact completed the run. The decision went on to have a huge bearing on the end result as KXIP failed to score that one elusive run off the last three balls leading to a tie. They eventually went on to lose in the Super-Over courtesy Kagiso Rabada’s brilliance.

A lot of former cricketers like Irfan Pathan, Virender Sehwag, and Lisa Sthalekar took to social media to criticize the fact that technology wasn’t used to rectify the error.

Tom Moody also echoed the same but he also added that it is not going to change anytime soon until there is a modification in the IPL rule-book.

”Unfortunately, things like that aren’t thought through until incidents like that happen. Without a doubt, the third umpire should have made a ruling but they need to declare that that is part of the rules prior to the start of the tournament. It clearly isn’t part of the rules,” Tom Moody told ESPNCricinfo.

Loading...

Also Read- IPL 2020: Kings XI Punjab Officially Lodge An Appeal To The Match Referee Over The ‘Short Run’ Controversy

IPL rule book needs to be rectified to allow the full use of technology- Tom Moody

Tom Moody
Replays showed Chris Jordan had completed the second run (Credits: Twitter)

According to the Appendix G of the IPL’s playing conditions, the television umpires are not permitted to be involved in short-run decisions, which Moody reckoned is completely ridiculous, given the fact that the third-umpire is in charge of no-ball, run-out, and stumping calls.

Loading...

Moody added that until the rule is rectified, we are not going to see the full engagement of the available technology.

“This shouldn’t happen with the technology available. This was a line call like a no-ball, run out or stumping we can’t afford to have these errors influencing the outcome of matches in such a competitive tournament. The no-balls go upstairs (for review) and the third umpires are in charge of that, (same with) run-outs and stumping,” Tom Moody said.

But they haven’t declared that any other incidents like that (when) a third umpire can overrule an on-field umpire. Until that happens we’re not going to get the full engagement of the technology that’s available.” he added.

Meanwhile, Kings XI Punjab has officially lodged an appeal to the Match Referee over the ‘Short Run’ Controversy.

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.