Tilak Varma
Tilak Varma. Image Credits: BCCI

Last Update on: September 15th, 2023 at 03:01 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Tilak Varma will make his ODI debut for Team India against Bangladesh in the forthcoming Super 4 game of the ongoing Asia Cup 2023. India captain Rohit Sharma confirmed the news at toss ahead of the match. The match is scheduled to be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Tilak Varma earned his maiden ODI call-up for the Asia Cup after impressing in his maiden T20I assignment for Team India. After doing well in the domestic circuit and the IPL, the highly-rated left-handed batsman was named in India’s squad for the T20I series against West Indies.

The 20-year old hit the ground running in international cricket and finished the five-match series against West Indies as India’s top run-scorer. In 5 games, he scored 173 runs at an average of 58. He was also a part of the India squad for the three-match T20I series against Ireland but failed to make a big impact.

Tilak Varma started his T20I career in a stunning manner and he would be eyeing something similar in the ODIs too. The southpaw is not a part of India’s World Cup squad but a good performance against Bangladesh would definitely bolster his chances of becoming a regular in the ODI team in the coming days.

India look to extend winning run:

Team India will be looking to extend their winning run in the Asia Cup 2023. The Men in Blue have already qualified for the final and would take on Sri Lanka in the title-decider on Sunday (September 17). But before the final, India will be eyeing another win when they take on Bangladesh in the last Super 4 game.

Read More  IND vs AUS Rajkot Weather Report Live Today And Pitch Report- 3rd ODI, 2023

With a place in the final already secured, Team India have made five changes to the playing eleven. Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav have been rested. They have been replaced by Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami and Prasidh Krishna.

Here is how fans reacted on social media after Tilak Varma’s ODI debut was confirmed:

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, KL Rahul(w), Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Prasidh Krishna