Twitter Reacts As Australia Keep India To Under-Par Score

Twitter Reacts As Australia Keep India To Under-Par Score
Australia celebrate a wicket. Credits: Twitter

India posted an under-par score of 255 runs after Australian captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to bowl first. The visitors got off to a good start as they got the big wicket of Rohit Sharma in the fifth over. The right-hander was looking to clear mid-on but got a bottom edge which was neatly taken by David Warner. Subsequently, Rahul was promoted to number three position.

Dhawan struggled to rotate the strike in the initial phase but he was able to find his timing soon after. On the other hand, KL Rahul was also able to continue his good form as he kept scoring at almost run-a-ball.

Virat Kohli, Aaron Finch
Virat Kohli, Aaron Finch. (Credits: Twitter)

India lost its way in the middle stage.

However, just when Rahul and Dhawan were getting India into a position of dominance, the former had a soft dismissal. The right-hander was looking to clear the mid-wicket fielder but hit the ball straight to Steven Smith. Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul posted a good alliance of 121 runs.

But after Rahul’s dismissal, India slipped down the slope. Dhawan was looking to flick the ball on the leg-side and got a top edge which was taken by Australian captain Aaron Finch. The southpaw scored 74 runs from 91 balls with the help of nine fours and one six as he top-scored for the team.

Twitter Reacts As Australia Keep India To Under-Par Score
Dhawan and Rahul. Credits: BCCI Twitter

Furthermore, the Indian captain Virat Kohli was also dismissed cheaply. The talisman smashed the ball straight but Adam Zampa took a sharp catch off his own bowling. Shreyas Iyer was tested with short stuff and he then played a drive without moving his feet, which took an edge to wicketkeeper Alex Carey. Thus, India lost four wickets for 34 runs.

Rishabh Pant had the chance to add the finishing touches but could only make 28 runs. Ravindra Jadeja also scored 25 runs but was dismissed by Kane Richardson. Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Shami added some crucial runs as the former scored 17 runs.

On the other hand, Mitchell Starc scalped three wickets. Pat Cummins took two wickets whereas Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar and Kane Richardson took one wicket.

Here is how Twitter reacted to India’s innings:

Related Posts