Mayank Agarwal
Mayank Agarwal

The finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy took place between Saurashtra and Karnataka at the iconic Ferozshah Kotla in Delhi. After winning the toss, Saurashtra decided to opt to bowl first, looking at the star-studded line up of Karnataka.

The likes of Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Karun Nair, and Stuart Binny featured in the Karnataka lineup.  It was opener Mayank Agarwal who dominated the Saurashtra bowlers with his 79-ball 90.

KL Rahul, South Africa Vs India, Bloemfontein, Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag,
KL Rahul is aiming high in order to excel in South Africa. Photo Credit: AFP.

Samarth and Deshpande also contributed in the middle of the Karnataka’s first inning total of 258. Makwana was the standout bowler for the men in blue and black. He scalped as many as four wickets in the innings.

Chasing a par total 258, the Saurashtra reply started off on a wrong foot, losing the likes of Samarth Vyas and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja early. The inning then saw a peculiar knock from Chateshwar Pujara who scored 94 0fff 127 deliveries at a strike rate of 71.

SA vs AUS 2018: David Warner Recalls His First Tour of South Africa and Many More

Twitter reacts to Saurashtra loss in the Vijay Hazare Trophy
Mayank Agarwal of Karnataka. Photo credits: Cricbuzz

For the bowlers, it was Gowtham who impressed the most with his three wickets in the innings. He was well supported by Prasidha Krishna at the other end who also scalped three wickets.

The inning also saw a dismal performance from Ravindra Jadeja, who also struggled for his 38-ball 10 runs. In end, Karnataka won the finals of the tournament with ease by a margin of 41 runs.

Mayank Aggarwal received the player of the match as well as the man of the series award to continue his rich run of form.

Let us look at how Twitter reacted:

Also Read: Adelaide Strikers renew Afghan Superstar Rashid Khan’s contract for another summer

Smriti Mandhana delighted after limited-overs’ series victory in South Africa