UAE announce new all-inclusive international T20 league, comprising five franchises. Credit: Getty

Last Update on: June 4th, 2018 at 01:24 pm

Emirate Cricket Board has decided to launch a new Twenty20 League, the name of which will be unveiled at its official launch later this month in the UAE.

Meanwhile, International Cricket Council (ICC) have officially sanctioned the league for ten years.

Moreover, it will have five franchise teams battling it out in 22 matches. The tournament will spread across 24 days in December and January.

Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman and Ras Al Khaimah will host all the matches.

However, the unique selling point of the league will be its all-encompassing structure. The 16-member squad of each franchise will comprise of six international “star” players, two emerging players from ICC Full Member nations, three players from ICC Associate Member nations, two junior players and three UAE cricketers.

Related image

CEO of Emirates Cricket Board, David East admitted they aim to take cricket all part of UAE. They also strive to develop cricket at the grassroots level throughout UAE.

Our firm aim is for this event to take the sport to all corners of the UAE and to develop cricket at a grassroots level initially in – Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman and Ras Al Khaimah,” David East, CEO of the Emirates Cricket Board, said. “This will not be just another T20 tournament; it will be a true international festival of sport and the hottest cricket ticket in the UAE,” he added.

The cricket body also admitted they have the support of six cricket boards of ICC Full Member nations. They are England & Wales, Ireland, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, New Zealand and the Windies.

Also Read: MS Dhoni offers prayers at the temple after leading CSK to IPL title

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making...