Varun Aaron Highlights His Target In The Upcoming Edition Of IPL

Varun Aaron Highlights His Target In The Upcoming Edition Of IPL

Varun Aaron
Varun Aaron. (Credits: Twitter)

Indian fast bowler Varun Aaron was earmarked for greatness when his name began appearing in Indian cricket circles; however, frequent injuries kept curtailing his career. Varun Aaron will play under the leadership of Steve Smith for Rajasthan Royals and expressed his desire to return to the national colours. Meanwhile, the paceman underlined his target for the upcoming leg of IPL in the UAE.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Aakash Chopra Picks The Ideal Playing XI For The Delhi Capitals

Varun Aaron made his maiden appearance in IPL back in 2011 and played only four games. He featured for Kings XI Punjab, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Delhi Capitals before landing in a contract with Rajasthan Royals. The 2014 season which was the RCB was his most successful one in which Aaron picked 16 out of his 42 career wickets in ten games.

Varun Aaron
Varun Aaron (Credits: BCCI)

That was also the speedster’s most number of appearances in a single season. As far as the 30-year old’s international career goes, Varun Aaron made his ODI debut in October 2011 and Test debut a month later. However, both formats have yielded only 29 scalps in 18 games. Varun’s final Test came against South Africa in Bengaluru in 2015 in which he took a wicket as the match resulted in a draw.

Varun Aaron wishes to take more than 16 wickets in IPL 2020:

Varun Aaron Highlights His Target In The Upcoming Edition Of IPL
Photo by Deepak Malik – IPL – Sportzpics

The Bihar-born cricketer engaged in a question and answer session with ESPN Cricinfo wherein the interviewee asked him which record he would like to break. Varun responded by saying that he would like to bag more than 16 scalps in a season, which was the number of victims he claimed in 2014 for Bangalore. Rajasthan Royals has produced fluctuating performances in the last many seasons and haven’t reached the final since lifting the trophy in 2008.

The fast bowling talent is abundant in the camp in the form of Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat, Ankit Rajpoot, Jofra Archer Tom Curran, Andrew Tye, Oshane Thomas. At the same time, the batting department gets bolstered by the likes of skipper Steve Smith, Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Robin Uthappa Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, and David Miller. Shreyas Gopal and Mayank Markande remains their specialist spin bowlers.

Also Read: Kris Srikkanth Backing Murali Vijay To Replace Suresh Raina At The Top Of The Order In IPL 2020