Karun Nair led Karnataka sailed past Hyderabad in the first quarterfinal of the Vijay Hazare Trophy to book a berth in the semi-final of the ongoing Vijay Hazare 2017-18 season. It turned out to blessing in disguise for Karnataka as Mayank Agarwal, along with Ravikumar Samarth, shared 242-run stand for the second wicket.

After opting to bat first, Karnataka had an aggressive start but lost the wicket of Karun Nair on 29.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017/18: Mayank Agarwal, Samarth ton guide Karnataka into semi-final
Mayank Agarwal played an innings of 140. Photo Web.

Mayank, who is in a form of his life, was the one batsman, who seemed to be in the spotlight right throughout the innings.

Agarwal found gaps easily and smashed boundaries in a flurry during his stay at the crease. He played an innings of 140, before being dismissed.

The most glittering part of Agarwal’s innings was when he hit a six to reach his century. He was batting on a score of 94.

Samarth, on the other hand, did his job to perfection. Though Mayank was the star of the partnership; as former too played his part well.

Samarth played an innings of 125 off 124 to lead Karnataka to a big total.

Riding on centuries from the duo, Karnataka posted a total of 347 for eight in 50 overs. Hyderabad needed their openers to do well but they lost the first wicket on 19.

They seemed to be on track behind the target but quick wickets of K Rohit Rayudu (28) and T Ravi Teja (53) jittered their chances.

Mayank Agarwal, Ravikumar Samarth, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018, Ambati Rayudu
Ambati Rayudu scored 64 runs for Hyderabad. Photo Credit: AFP.

Again, the hopes of the team came up when Ambati Rayudu and Bavanaka Sandeep set their foot on the crease. They shared 98 runs for the fourth wicket but the moment Sandeep got stumped off Shreyas Gopal, Hyderabad’s hopes almost came to an end.

Rayudu’s wicket officially ruled Hyderabad out of the race. In the end, they were bowled out for 244, thus losing the game by 103 runs.

Mayank Agarwal and Samarth shone for Karnataka with twin centuries, to pull off a win for their side.

Brief scores: Karnataka 347/8(Mayank Agarwal 140, Ravikumar Samarth 125; Mohammed Siraj 5-59) defeat Hyderabad (Ambati Rayudu 64, T Ravi Teja 53; Shreyas Gopal 5-31) by 103 runs.

Mumbai vs Maharashtra scorecard –

Brief scores: Maharashtra 224/3 (Shrikant Mundhe 70, Rahul Tripathi 49; Shivam Malhotra 1-29) defeat Mumbai (Suryakumar Yadav 69, Shreyas Iyer 35; Pradeep Dadhe 3-57) by seven wickets.

Follow Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 here –

Video of the day –